If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

Heidelberg, Medieval Cities of the Main Valley & the Romantic Road Tour

Just returned from this most enjoyable and well organised tour. We would endorse all previous positive comments and would particularly like to compliment our guide Rosey who was knowledgeable and helpful as well as our driver Ingo, who was probably the most helpful driver we have ever had, even doing our online flight bookings for all of us for the return flight. Many thanks, Ingo. Rosey coped admirably under pressure on the last day when two of our party were late returning for the coach to the airport for the return flight.
All destinations were beautiful to visit and the maps given to us for each stop by Rosey were invaluable - many thanks to her for that.
Hotels and food were very satisfactory, although the Mannheim Maritim was looking a little tired, with old style TVs and a lack of safe in the room.
We would recommend this tour without hesitation to anyone wanting to explore the delights of this area.

Review by Stephen Eyers on 10 September 2016

Just a short note of appreciation for the 23rd June trip to the romantische strasse and Heidelberg expertly led by Frank. It had just the right balance of tour guide and free time. There is only one thing I would have changed and that is an earlier flight home on the last day.

Review by Gareth Edwards on 2 September 2016

My husband and I have recently returned from the above holiday and I am writing to say how much we enjoyed the experience.
The whole area was very attractive and very interesting and we greatly appreciated the historical knowledge and enthusiasm of our Tour Manager - Frank Psttinson.  The hotels were good and well situated and our Tour Manager and excellent Coach Drive could not have been more helpful. 
We were delayed for several hours on the return journey by storms over northern Europe and became separated from our group but appreciated the phone call we received from your office the next day to verify our safe return.
It was an altogether wonderful holiday and we would like to thank you and your staff for all the help given and arrangements made on our behalf.  We look forward to travelling with you again.

Review by Chrstine Green (Mrs.) on 25 August 2016

Hi - I would like to compliment you on the structure and organisation of your Romantic Road Tour that I enjoyed last week.
The places visited were all fascinating and the information provided by Frank, our tour manager, was always relevant and interesting.
Everything went smoothly thanks to both Frank and and our driver, ingo who were helpful and very pleasant throughout.
Probably the best testimony I can provide is to say that in the next few days I will be booking another tour with Riviera for later this year.
Many thanks to all involved.

Review by John Ford on 25 August 2016

We would like to express many thanks and gratitude for the quality of the tour to Germany.( medieval cities.)
The mix of locations and history was fascinating, the location of the hotels convenient, Rooms clean, Staff friendly & helpful & food very good & plentiful.
A busy but thoroughly enjoyable few days.
We usually travel independently, First time on an escorted tour. So not to sure what to expect.
So how lovely it was to have someone take care of every detail for you.
The Tour manager Frank and driver Ingo were both excellent, welcoming and professional.  Frank’s prepared maps, advice and guidance made everything incredibly easy.  His friendly style and other little extra visits were truly a treat!
Once again many thanks to all concerned.

Review by Sheila & Garry Webb on 12 August 2016

Just arrived home having had a wonderful tour of the Medieval Cities of the Main Valley. Meeting new people, who very quickly became new friends and seeing historic Castles and Cathedrals in the luxury of a comfortable, safely driven Coach were lovely experiences. Most memorable of all was our Tour Manager, Frank Pattison. His daily presentation was excellent and he answered every question which I asked, (including the latest Test Match score).Thank you Frank, and the Coach Driver, Ingo for a great time. Jim and Eileen.

Review by James Lawton on 10 August 2016

We have just returned from this holiday and we really enjoyed it. Everything was very well organised and well balanced with free time and trips. The hotels were good and meals mostly quite good. The tour guide Frank Pattison was excellent. Very professional and so helpful. Our coach driver Ingo Thrumen was excellent also and he and Frank make a wonderful team. Thank you both.  Rose Gordon

Review by Rose Gordon on 20 July 2016

This was our 3rd tour with Riviera and we loved the experience of visiting the beautiful medieval towns in Germany. The towns visited were excellent and I especially enjoyed Miltenberg. Hotels were good as were the buffet dinners and our tour guide Frank was excellent providing just enough information with humour and an obvious passion for the area we visited. I can’t praise Frank enough. He and our driver Ingo ensured everything ran smoothly and Frank even tracked down something I had lost and personally arranged to send it on to me.  A great tour with a wonderful guide.

Review by Moira Douglas on 30 June 2016

We have just returned from Heidelberg and the romantic road. A truly enjoyable tour that more than lived up to its billing. The medieval towns of Miltenberg and Wertheim are absolute gems. What elevated the tour from very good to truly memorable was the tour guide Frank Pattison, not only a superb organiser (everything ran like clockwork ) but the X factor was his depth of knowledge and his love of both the country and its people, undoubtedly the best tour guide we have encountered and a credit to Riviera Travel.
Richard and vivien Goldstone

Review by Richard goldstone on 11 June 2016

We have just returned from this tour and cannot fault it. The choice of venues was excellent with adequate free time in each. The hotels were very good and staff were both polite and efficient. Food was of a good/high standard with a varied choice both at breakfast and dinner. A special mention must be made about our guide, Frank, his knowledge and understanding of the region was outstanding, as was his friendly and professional manner throughout the tour.
All in all a superb break which we thoroughly enjoyed and would recommend.

Review by Margaret and Brian Feakes on 10 July 2013

Just to endorse to the hilt all the comments made by Mr and Mrs Feakes earlier. A superb tour in every respect lifted to the highest level by our expert guide Frank. This was our third trip with Riviera and a brilliant experience.

Review by John Delany on 6 September 2013

We returned from out trip to Heidelberg and the Romantic Road last Monday and haven’t stopped talking about it since. We thoroughly enjoyed every day and were thrilled to have seen the beautiful medieval towns and wonderful countryside. Helen, our courier, was brilliantly well informed and gave us so much useful information on each place we visited. Both hotels were great and the food varied and delicious.
This wasn’t our first holiday with Riviera, we’ve been to Lake Garda and the Amalfi coast in the past, but it was the first for a few years and we will be going with them again. So well organised with no hitch at all. Highly recommended!

Review by Michael Massey on 14 September 2013

The trip exceeded expectations, in every respect, except for Hotel Maritim in Wurzberg which did not open the bar until 9pm! Frank, our courier and guide, was very informative and went to endless trouble to tell us the background and history of the towns we visited.  He prepared us well for our visits, giving out maps and recommending particular sights in each place when he wasn’t personally conducting a guided tour for us. He cannot be praised too highly for his endless helpfulness and efficiency.

Review by Jo Baker on 7 October 2013

At the beginning of September this year we went with Riviera Travel to Bavaria. It is very remiss of me to have taken so long to tell you that we had a really enjoyable 6 days.  The hotels were very good. Helen, our Tour Guide, was absolutely marvelous, as were the Guides at the places we visited, and Andreas, our driver. Everything was so well planned and we fitted in a lot without feeling rushed. In all it was a memorable break and we certainly plan to travel again with Riviera.  Some time ago we travelled with you to Bruges and that too was a very good break.

Review by Mr. & Mrs. I Glendenning and Mr. G.J. Newsome on 7 November 2013

An excellent tour. We Brits don’t often visit Germany and this tour showed us what we are missing. Beautiful countryside, magnificent historic towns and a never ending supply of superb roads - the wine was pretty good too. The Riviera balance between travel, guided tours and time to explore on our own was just right.
But above all we benefited from the detailed knowledge and succinct presentation from our guide Frank Pattinson. We appreciated his encyclopedic knowledge of European and German history, his supply of excellent maps, his talks on the bus and his very friendly help on every matter under the sun. He could not have been more helpful and was the key factor in our enjoyment of our holiday.  Many thanks indeed.

Review by Peter & Barbara Storey on 19 June 2014

We would like to express appreciation for the quality of the tour to Germany - Heidelberg and the mediaeval cities.  (5-10 June)
The mix of locations and history was fascinating, the location of the hotels were convenient and the relatively short distances between historic sites and places of interest was much appreciation.  
Most importantly, the logistics were very well managed.  Tour manager Frank and driver Waldemar were both excellent, welcoming and professional.  Frank had prepared thoroughly for the tour and we found his maps, advice and guidance made everything incredibly easy.  His unfailingly cheerful and friendly style complemented his excellent organisation skills.  Hotel check-ins, transfers, movement between venues and sites was all done so smoothly and with no effort.  All down to Frank being on top of it and having a nice rapport with Waldemar.  We usually travel independently, so having a tour completely managed by someone else is a treat.  
Please can you make sure this feedback is shared with the appropriate colleagues - and thanks again for the great trip.

Review by Martin Thomas on 26 June 2014

I had a very pleasant time on this tour under the guidance of Frank Pattison, Tour Manager. Everything went smoothly with the daily tours and the information provided by Frank on each of the places visited was sufficient enough to make it an enjoyable holiday. From the base hotels in Wurzburg and Mannheim, the daily tours made were timed to arrive back at the hotel by 4pm. This may not be suitable to all travellers as it curtailed times spent in the places visited. However, as we were unable to to do a walkabout tour of the local scenes in Wurzburg and Mannheim, the time before scheduled dinners at 7.30pm was taken advantage of to do this activity on solo trips. Personally, I was quite pleased to have this opportunity to wander around on my own. I would certainly recommend this tour to all prospective travellers in future.

Review by James Marshall on 21 July 2014

This fascinating tour reflects the Spirit of Germany as an emerging nation beautifully; a delight for the eye and the ear too if you are lucky enough to have Frank as your Tour Manager. Conscientious to a fault in looking after 49 of us,  he delivered mini-bites of historical knowledge clearly and concisely along the way, which brought alive every spectacular, picture-book destination. I would recommend this holiday to anyone who enjoys superb architecture, scenery, history, myths and legends - and Franconian wines are excellent too.

Review by Marie Craig on 24 July 2014

I really enjoyed this historical and interesting tour in such a beautiful part of Germany.  I new nothing about this area and was not disappointed.  Our knowledgeable, professional and friendly tour manager, Frank, gave just the right amount of information in a very easy to listen to way.  We had plenty of free time to explore each of the towns, returning early enough each day to further explore our two bases of Wurzberg and Mannheim before dinner if we wished - Franconian wine on the old bridge in Wurzburg was most enjoyable.  Both hotels were central and comfortable.  Breakfasts were second to none with a wide variety of choices, dinners were not quite so good but as a single traveler, not having to go in search of somewhere to eat in the evening is one of my priorities on a holiday. Our excellent coach driver, Johannes, deserves a mention too.  He was also professional, knowledgeable and friendly and had a good supply of water, wine and beer in his fridge much cheaper than the hotel and even the local supermarket.  This was my second trip with Riviera and my third is already booked. I highly recommend Riviera Travel to you, their attention to detail is outstanding.

Review by Celia Murdoch on 27 July 2014

We had good weather, The Guide was excellent.   Harry is a Micheal Portillo figure with an immense knowledge of the area and of the Germans.   His diappointment when we spent too much time in the restaurants was palpable!      The part of Germany visited is packed full of cultural interest.   I felt, however that at each town he should have taken us to where he considered the prime site not to be missed.   Churches are easy to find.   Time was desperately short.   I felt we left generally much too early giving much too much spare time in the home location.   I hope Harry is keeping a Log of new descoveries e.g.  At Würzburg one can get from the Hotel to the castle using a bus and a train in 15 minutes.     At the Opera in Manheim one should be aware that there can be two performances running concurrently and that one should ask to make sure one attends the correct one!.   The tour was most informative.  I look forward to going with Harry to Berlin!                        Regards    Don Warne

Review by Don Warne on 27 July 2014

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.