[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Florence & Tuscany

Just got back from a great holiday in Florence and Tuscany. The Corona hotel had a great location for visiting Florence and the Park hotel had tremendous views when eating there. Also, the barman Morroni produces great cocktails. Bernie the tour guide was excellent with her knowledge and people's skills.

Highlights in a holiday of highlights was going early to the Medici tombs and the Palazzo Medici Riccardi - Magi room in Florence and being on our own in what would be a busy area later. Uffizi Gallery and the Duomo's in San Gimignano and Siena. Also the Museo Civico in Siena. Three places offered the best Ice cream in the world. Great places to eat out. The wine tasting was very good . The Alabaster carving, the owner was a real character.

Review by: Paul Chapman on 02/07/2019

Florence & Tuscany

Just back from another great holiday with Rivieria. Very well organised and excellent weather! We had a few unexpected things happen but these were dealt with smoothly by Michele. Just looking at what to book next.

Review by: Pauline on 12/10/2018

Florence & Tuscany

Lovely holiday in Tuscany and our thanks to our Tour Manager Bernie who was friendly and full of knowledge on the areas we visited. Also thanks to our coach drivers.

The Park Hotel Fonti was great having good food/pool and staff and it was lovely to relax there in the Tuscan countryside. Great group of people on our trip.

Review by: Liz Slight on 11/07/2018

Florence & Tuscany

We have visited the most wonderful places on our recent tour and although some of the towns had steep streets care was taken to find the best route, allowing for the mobility/age of the group, The hotels were of a good standard and in great locations for access to the town, good food, immaculately clean and friendly staff. The trip to the vineyard and the alabaster work shop were a great bonus and the whole trip has been very memorable. Excellent organisation throughout and a huge, huge thank you to Dina - she really is a star and made the whole trip carefree, happy and entertaining. She is a huge credit to Riviera.

Review by: Janet Faithfull on 24/06/2018

Florence & Tuscany

Another wonderful tour with Riviera. Carlotta was an excellent tour guide, very informative, friendly and helpful. We have used Riviera before and therefore expect high standards and were not disappointed. Thank you for a great holiday.

Review by: Elaine Fotheringham on 19/05/2018

Florence & Tuscany

A lovely informative holiday thank you weather glorious hotels and food good, full on itinary and a lot of walking.

Review by: Susan Ramy on 22/04/2018

Florence & Tuscany

We have just returned from the tour of Florence and Tuscany having had a lovely holiday. The weather was perfect . The hill top town of Lucca was our favourite place. We thought that 48 in the group was too many. The Grand Hotel Meditteraneo in Florence was a reasonable distance into the centre of Florence . It was a very busy hotel used by many tour groups that didn't cope all that well at breakfast as people found it difficult to get a table. The second hotel at Colle di val d'elsa was more relaxing , had much better accomodation . More time was needed for the trip to Pisa airport for our return home, as we only got to the gate just before boarding after queuing to get through baggage & security. Overall a good holiday.

Review by: Maureen Summerville on 07/10/2017

Florence & Tuscany

Just brilliant. Matt was our guide and was superb beginning to end - knowledgeable, interesting to listen to and helpful in every way. Will use Riviera in future for all my holiday breaks in Europe and beyond. Suited me in every way. Thanks for a 5 star holiday!

Review by: Gilbert Whitney on 22/09/2017

Florence & Tuscany

We returned some weeks ago from the Florence and Tuscany tour. The whole tour was fantastic- the trips were all very well organised and the places were beautiful. In particular, our tour guide was truly wonderful, so friendly and extremely knowledgable. We couldn't have asked for a better holiday. We really enjoyed every aspect of the week and can not wait to return. Thank you very much to our lovely tour guide Jackie!

Review by: charlotte on 30/08/2017

Florence & Tuscany

Just back from this tour. It was really lovely and well thought through. Jackie our guide was delightful and we loved Florence and Volterra... As well as the other places we visited.Thank you.

Review by: Mrs. Sue Crabb on 27/09/2017

Florence & Tuscany

We have just returned from the Florence and Tuscany tour and would like to say that it exceeded our expectations. The Grand Hotel Mediterraneo was well situated, within walking distance of all the fabulous sights and our room was quiet and comfortable. We enjoyed being able to choose our own restaurants in the evening. The Hotel Le Fonti in Volterra had amazing views across the Tuscan countryside from the pool terrace.

The excursions were very professionally organised and gave a good balance of guided and free time. We must make a special mention of our tour manager Matt, who was absolutely excellent. He not only knows about the places on the itinerary in detail, but also gave us a real insight into living and working in Italy, all delivered in a humorous and friendly manner. He is a real asset to Riviera.

Review by: Lynn Fowler on 31/08/2017

Florence & Tuscany

We toured Tuscany with Riviera Travel this August. Normally we visit cities under our own steam so were a little apprehensive about being part of a group and following a set itinerary. We were pleasantly surprised. We were fortunate that others in the group were welcoming and genial and that the itinerary, although intensive, worked like clockwork and was overseen by Bernie, an experienced and efficient tour manager.

Review by: nick carter on 04/08/2017

Florence & Tuscany

I would just like to say how much we enjoyed the tour of Florence and Tuscany. We had never been on a tour before and were not sure if it would suit us but we found the itinerary not too strenuous and the pullmans comfortable. The hotel in Florence was well-situated and just a 15 minute walk along the Arno to Ponte Vecchio. The hotel in Volterra was rustic in some respects but the room was clean and comfortable - and what fabulous views of the Tuscan countryside from the pool area. A special mention for our guide Carlotta. Her professionalism, knowledge and sense of humour made the trip so special for us. She was certainly the best rep we have ever met. Also a special mention for the staff of the G H Mediterraneo in Florence. Although a large hotel (over 300 rooms) the staff were always attentive and helpful. On one occasion when my wife missed breakfast due to illness, we went down to the restaurant mid-morning and the staff not only found a yoghurt and fruit for her to take back to our room they also offered to make her a cup of tea. Thank you to everyone involved. Bravo Riviera!

Review by: Gary Welland on 28/06/2017

Florence & Tuscany Tour

Every aspect of this Riviera holiday was wonderful and informing. We must commend our guide Deborah whose knowledge of all things Italian was breathtaking and always interesting. We thought we new something of Italian History and Culture. We certainly do now.

The two hotels, the food and of course the Chianti Wines were exceptional.

It was a very busy holiday and the days were long, but the company we were with made up for that with their friendliness and good humour.

Thanks again to Riviera Travel for a holiday to remember.

John and Vivien.

Review by: John Greenhalgh on 06/05/2017

Florence & Tuscany Tour

Having just returned from my twelfth Riviera holiday I wish to extend my praise to our wonderful guide, Berni. Mid way through the holiday I tripped and dislocated my shoulder but thanks to Berni’s excellent knowledge of Italian she was able to communicate at the hospital, attend to my insurance, obtain a Certificate to Fly and arranged a taxi from the Airport home. i felt in very safe hands as nothing was too much trouble to her, for which I am very grateful.

Review by: Mary Graham on 21/10/2016

Florence & Tuscany Tour

My friend and I really enjoyed our holiday and in particular I wanted to say what a wonderful tour guide Matt was. His knowledge of Italy, Tuscany in particular and the places we visited contributed greatly to our enjoyment of the tour. His care of us, without being too obvious, was excellent and throughout he showed good humour and friendliness. We all enjoyed his daily jokes on the coach. But what I thought was exceptional was his organising the quiz for us to guess the total age of the party and then providing prizes for the winner, but also for the one who was furthest from the right answer and for others who had a birthday, and for the one poor lady who had had a nasty fall. He deserves a gold star.

Review by: Maureen Preston on 07/10/2016

Florence & Tuscany Tour

We have recently returned from your Florence/Tuscany tour and thoroughly enjoyed the holiday despite poor weather! We found the itinerary very good and also could not fault the excellent hotels we were allocated. Cannot praise our tour guide Liz enough she was extremely knowledgeable, helpful and friendly and certainly enhanced our holiday she is certainly an asset to your Company! Would not hesitate to recommend this tour and will most certainly be booking with Riviera Travel again in the future.

Many thanks

Review by: Jan Duffin on 07/10/2016

Florence & Tuscany Tour

Just wanted to thank Jackie, our tour manager, for making our holiday so memorable. Nothing was too much trouble, she was “always on duty” for anything that was needed. Lovely, lovely lady.

Review by: Paula messum on 08/10/2016

Florence & Tuscany Tour

We have just returned from our first Riviera holiday and pleased to say, we enjoyed every moment! Our tour manager, Matt, was excellent throughout - clearly passionate about ALL things Italian! He gave an excellent insight into the culture, Italian life in general, where to go in your free time and ideas for eating. A very good programme with a mix of organised guides and free time worked really well.

The Hotel in Florence is walking distance of all the sights and the Tuscany Hotel set in beautiful surroundings with stunning views. Must also congratulate the coach drivers on their expertise. Well done Riviera!

Review by: Wendy and Peter Boulding on 29/09/2016

Florence & Tuscany Tour

We have just returned from the best holiday we have had in many years. Not only did we enjoy the wonderful sights, works of art and scenery that we saw on this trip, but we benefitted greatly from being led by our tour manager, Bev, whose humour, care and attention, and expertise played major part in making this trip so memorable for us. Thanks very much Bev.

The hotels were very good, particularly the one in Tuscany.

All in all, this trip was first class. This was our first holiday with Riviera, but we certainly don’t think it will be the last.

Review by: Geoff Culshaw on 21/09/2016

Florence & Tuscany Tour

Have just returned from the tour to Florence and Tuscany and it was very good. This was our 6th holiday with you and they have all been excellent. Highly recommended is Liz, the tour manager. She was

exceptionally good and one of the best we have had. Thank you Riviera

Review by: Thelma Randall on 21/09/2016

Florence & Tuscany Tour

Just a quick email to thank everyone at Riviera Travel for another great holiday. From the time I contacted your colleague via telephone in late June, through to the end of our trip, everything was excellently organised. Being able to fly direct from Belfast was a great plus.

Finally, a word of thanks to our guide, Matt. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he was always there with useful advice and guidance. An excellent performance and much appreciated.

See you next year, if not before!

Regards

Garth Manderson

Review by: Garth Manderson on 12/09/2016

Florence & Tuscany Tour

What a super trip. Hotel in Florence perfectly located by the Central Market where we dined each evening. Hotel Fortina at Volterra very comfortable. Food excellent with very good choice. We had wall to wall sunshine and the pool was a delight. We had met Bev on a previous tour and it was treat to renew her acquaintance. She is a credit to your company. We will be travelling with again. Many thanks for another fantastic trip.

Review by: John Smith on 09/09/2016

Florence & Tuscany Tour

I praised our Tour Guide, Clara in my earlier testimonial and wanted to add that this was a superbly organised holiday by Riviera. My second trip with you and would certainly recommend. Plenty to see and not rushed at all. Well Done!

Review by: Jennifer Spiers on 10/07/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.