If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

Florence & Tuscany Tour

Having just returned from my twelfth Riviera holiday I wish to extend my praise to our wonderful guide, Berni.  Mid way through the holiday I tripped and dislocated my shoulder but thanks to Berni’s excellent knowledge of Italian she was able to communicate at the hospital, attend to my insurance, obtain a Certificate to Fly and arranged a taxi from the Airport home.  i felt in very safe hands as nothing was too much trouble to her, for which I am very grateful.

Review by Mary Graham on 21 October 2016

My friend and I really enjoyed our holiday and in particular I wanted to say what a wonderful tour guide Matt was.  His knowledge of Italy,  Tuscany in particular and the places we visited contributed greatly to our enjoyment of the tour.  His care of us, without being too obvious, was excellent and throughout he showed good humour and friendliness.  We all enjoyed his daily jokes on the coach.  But what I thought was exceptional was his organising the quiz for us to guess the total age of the party and then providing prizes for the winner, but also for the one who was furthest from the right answer and for others who had a birthday, and for the one poor lady who had had a nasty fall. He deserves a gold star.

Review by Maureen Preston on 7 October 2016

We have recently returned from your Florence/Tuscany tour and thoroughly enjoyed the holiday despite poor weather!  We found the itinerary very good and also could not fault the excellent hotels we were allocated.  Cannot praise our tour guide Liz enough she was extremely knowledgeable, helpful and friendly and certainly enhanced our holiday she is certainly an asset to your Company! Would not hesitate to recommend this tour and will most certainly be booking with Riviera Travel again in the future.
Many thanks

Review by Jan Duffin on 7 October 2016

Just wanted to thank Jackie, our tour manager, for making our holiday so memorable. Nothing was too much trouble, she was “always on duty” for anything that was needed. Lovely, lovely lady.

Review by Paula messum on 8 October 2016

We have just returned from our first Riviera holiday and pleased to say, we enjoyed every moment!  Our tour manager, Matt, was excellent throughout - clearly passionate about ALL things Italian!  He gave an excellent insight into the culture, Italian life in general, where to go in your free time and ideas for eating.  A very good programme with a mix of organised guides and free time worked really well.
The Hotel in Florence is walking distance of all the sights and the Tuscany Hotel set in beautiful surroundings with stunning views.  Must also congratulate the coach drivers on their expertise.  Well done Riviera!

Review by Wendy and Peter Boulding on 29 September 2016

We have just returned from the best holiday we have had in many years. Not only did we enjoy the wonderful sights, works of art and scenery that we saw on this trip, but we benefitted greatly from being led by our tour manager,  Bev, whose humour, care and attention, and expertise played major part in making this trip so memorable for us. Thanks very much Bev.
The hotels were very good, particularly the one in Tuscany.
All in all, this trip was first class. This was our first holiday with Riviera, but we certainly don’t think it will be the last.

Review by Geoff Culshaw on 21 September 2016

Have just returned from the tour to Florence and Tuscany and it was very good.  This was our 6th holiday with you and they have all been excellent.  Highly recommended is Liz, the tour manager.  She was
exceptionally good and one of the best we have had.  Thank you Riviera

Review by Thelma Randall on 21 September 2016

Just a quick email to thank everyone at Riviera Travel for another great holiday.  From the time I contacted your colleague via telephone in late June, through to the end of our trip, everything was excellently organised.  Being able to fly direct from Belfast was a great plus.
Finally, a word of thanks to our guide, Matt.  Nothing was too much trouble for him and he was always there with useful advice and guidance. An excellent performance and much appreciated.
See you next year, if not before!
Garth Manderson

Review by Garth Manderson on 12 September 2016

What a super trip. Hotel in Florence perfectly located by the Central Market where we dined each evening. Hotel Fortina at Volterra very comfortable. Food excellent with very good choice. We had wall to wall sunshine and the pool was a delight. We had met Bev on a previous tour and it was treat to renew her acquaintance. She is a credit to your company. We will be travelling with again. Many thanks for another fantastic trip.

Review by John Smith on 9 September 2016

I praised our Tour Guide, Clara in my earlier testimonial and wanted to add that this was a superbly organised holiday by Riviera. My second trip with you and would certainly recommend. Plenty to see and not rushed at all. Well Done!

Review by Jennifer Spiers on 10 July 2016

My second trip with Riviera and just as good as my first. Cannot speak highly enough of Clara Parkinson - terrific tour guide who really knew her stuff. Very well organised all round, with plenty of information on the places we visited. Thanks Clara & Riviera.

Review by Jennifer Spiers on 8 July 2016

My husband and I have recently returned from this tour, which was wonderful. From the moment we were met by our lovely tour guide, Bev Lewis, we knew it was going to as good as we hoped. Bev made sure everyone was alright, she supplied maps, knowledge and humour. We are already looking for next tour.

Review by Audrey Jackson on 5 July 2016

A friend & I have just returned from this tour & it lived up to everything I would expect from a Riviera Tour ( this has been our 4th holiday with Riviera Travel ).
I would like to single out Bev Lewis our tour manager. She was highly efficient getting us quickly through the Airport, & giving us all the information we needed on the various days out clearly & often amusingly. We were a large party of 48 (not easy in the middle of Florence ) but she was always there if needed without any fuss.
We will certainly be travelling with your company next year if we can. 

Irene Walsh,  Bramhall, Stockport

Review by Irene Walsh on 22 June 2016

This was our 4th trip to Italy with Riviera and we can honestly say that Matt Purse in Florence was the best tour guide we have had. He was knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble for him. We stayed in Hotel Mediterraneo in Florence and Hotel Piccolo Castello in Monteriggioni.Completely different hotels as the Florence one was a typical city centre hotel with lots of comings and goings.The Piccolo was a quiet retreat in the countryside. The whole trip was excellent and there was a good balance with trips and free time.
Florence had lots of good restaurants which were recommended by Matt and which we used as we were on Bed and Breakfast basis. Only a couple of restaurants in Monteriggioni but we were on half board at this hotel. However we did go to one that Matt recommended that was a typical village bar at the bottom of the hill leading up to the walled town, and this was excellent value for money.
Would not hesitate to book with Riviera again.

Review by Neil and Betty Davies on 10 May 2016

We have just returned from Florence and Tuscany. This was our 4th Riviera holiday and was, as usual, excellent. Your tour managers are superb and this one certainly lived up to our expectations and provided us with plenty of local knowledge and advice about restaurants. The hotel in Volterra was very good with stunning views from the terrace. The staff and food couldn’t have been better. A lovely holiday.
Travelled on 04/09/2012

Review by Lin Rand, Rutland on 12 September 2012

I have just returned from a trip to Tuscany with Riviera and would just like to say that the whole experience was excellent. Good hotels, good food, interesting places on the itinerary and a first class guide who was always around to help the party. He also knew just what information to give on the coach trips without being boring as can easily be the case. First Class!
Travelled on 12/06/2012

Review by Mr Boast, Bedfordshire on 20 June 2012

Just back from our second tour with Riviera (we’ve also done Bruges) and it was another superb holiday. We can’t speak highly enough of our tour manager’s efficiency, product knowledge and friendliness. The content of the Florence and Tuscany tour is excellent and the information provided by the tour manager combined with the comprehensive knowledge of the local guides provided all the background you could ever want. The location of the hotel in Florence was great - a comfortable stroll to and from the central district with a tremendous choice of restaurants and bars. Volterra was a magical town and a superb choice for our second base. Combine this with a brilliant, friendly group of people and it all adds up to one of the best holidays we’ve ever had (and we’ve had a lot!). Believe me, everyone we know will get to hear about it - and about how good Riviera Travel and Riviera Tour Managers are.
Travelled on 06/06/2012

Review by Rob Heslop, Newastle upon Tyne on 14 June 2012

A truly fantastic holiday, even with that torrential downpour in Florence! Will certainly use Riviera again. Excellent guides and coach driver. A special thanks to our main tour guide!
Travelled on 18/10/2011

Review by Helen & Ian Jackson, Oxford on 28 October 2011

First experience with Riviera.  Had a superb time and a lovely holiday.  Would highly recommend.

Review by Shelagh Fryer on 22 April 2013

We had a truly wonderful holiday.  This was our first venture with Riviera, but it won’t be our last.  Our tour manager, Denise, was very experienced, helpful and knowledgeable.  The tour itself featured some real gems.  We loved the fact that the two hotels were so different - the first one right in the centre of Florence, and the second one overlooking the rolling Tuscan hills.  Top marks!

Review by Sue W on 10 May 2013

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.