[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Deep South USA Plus Texas

Our holiday with your tour manager Linda and driver Rosie was perfect with both of them working hard to ensure that our group of 44 was well looked after. Rosie is a very cheerful and helpful person for whom nothing was too much trouble. As for Linda she was very informative and worked ceaselessly on our behalf. We have been on several trips with Riviera all of which have been successful but this one beats the lot!!

Review by: colin b brown on 17/09/2019

Deep South USA Plus Texas

The Deep South and Texas trip was a memorable journey through history. There is just so much to see and do. The optional trips to the General Jackson Showboat and the Grand Ole Opry were worth the extra cost. The hotels were great for location, service and room quality, and the fact that breakfasts were provided added to the convenience especially as early starts are needed to cover the distances involved and the number of key places to visit. I am still sorting through over 1000 photographs taken during the tip. Linda our tour manager and Kathy our driver were both outstanding professionals, and went out of their way to ensure that everything went as smoothly as possible. A very enjoyable and noteworthy trip: I am looking forward to returning to America in the near future - with Riviera.

Review by: John Watts on 14/05/2019

Deep South USA Plus Texas

This is the second time my husband and I have travelled on an American tour with Riviera Travel and we will have no hesitation in doing so again! Five of us travelled this time to Texas and the Deep South and all were absolutely delighted with the itinerary, hotels, excursions, our tour manager and driver. Every morning Rosie (our driver) set the tone for the whole day with his smiling face, sparkling personality, efficiency and general courteousness to every single one of his passengers. Although it was the first time Marcus had couriered this particular trip his expertise shone through and his use of media on-board the coach added to everyone's enjoyment, with his video clips, music and film extracts as well as interesting historical facts about places we were about to visit. Thank you so very much Marcus, Rosie, AND Riviera Travel for making an enjoyable holiday absolutely fantastic!

Review by: Margaret Cairns on 04/06/2019

Deep South USA Plus Texas

What a great time we both had. This was our first guided tour and didn't know what to expect. Sylvia was our Tour Guide, and she was excellent. She kept up amused, informed and well organised. She worked hard throughout the trip to remove any stress or anxiety. All we had to do was follow her instructions and be in the right place at the right time. Her knowledge of the local area was outstanding. She was particularly good with Ice Cream Parlours.

We were lucky enough to have Rosey as our driver and he was fantastic. He always had a smile on his face, even early in the morning, and worked really hard to make sure our bags were always in our rooms as soon as we arrived. His knowledge of the area was amazing and he seemed to know exactly where to go and park in every destination. We felt very safe in his hands.

The Tour Itinerary was excellent. All the different venues were great, with plenty to see and do. We were kept busy all the time and saw some amazing places.

The hotels were very good, although some of the breakfasts were a bit hit and miss.

If you are thinking about this trip, stop thinking and book it! You won't be disappointed.

Review by: Alan Thomas on 21/05/2019

Deep South USA Plus Texas

Overall this was a good value trip as it included Texas and the Amtrak train journey. Hotels much of a par tourist hotels. Coach driver De Henri excellent. Only hiccup was delay at Atlanta airport when Heathrow customers had to wait for 2 hours for Manchester travellers to arrive before transfer to hotel. Many thanks to you other travelling companions from me as solo traveller. I’d recommend this trip.

Review by: Isobel Costello on 09/04/2019

Deep South USA Plus Texas

What a trip!

This was our 3rd holiday of this type (our 2nd with Riviera) and it was excellent. My Wife & I & another couple went on this trip. Our tour manager, Cassie, was a star, nothing was too much trouble or seemed to faze her. She has traveled extensively and it was very interesting to hear some of her travel tales! From meeting her at Heathrow to saying goodbye to her also at Heathrow 2 weeks later she was fantastic, a real credit to Riviera travel. Our driver, Rosie, deserves a special mention also. He drove us all safely, on time with a permanent smile on his face for all of the 2,200+ miles we did. His 'morning exercises' were fun and got us off for the day with a smile on our faces (you'll see what I mean if you get Rosie as the driver on your trip)

This is more of an experience rather than a holiday, (you'll need a holiday to get over it !!) It is full on with early starts, some long drives but because of that you get to see so much during the 2 week tour. The tour feels more like a 3 week trip due to the amount that is covered in the itinerary. We also booked most of the extra trips available and they were most enjoyable. As with trips of this type, there is never enough time at each destination to explore it fully but that gives a good excuse to go back in future years to see it a little more in your own time. I don't really have a highlight as it was all one big highlight for me. I can only end this review by highly recommending this tour. If you are lucky enough to get Cassie as your tour manager & Rosie as your driver I can guarantee you will have a great time !!

Review by: Ian Chamberlain on 02/10/2018

Deep South USA Plus Texas

Excellent tour! Patricia was our tour manager and went the extra mile for us, including coming to find the party on the second flight home from Dallas into Atlanta to shepherd us to the Virgin gate for Manchester at the other end of the huge airport. She gave us a stack of history about the USA too. Rosie (Roosevelt) was our driver throughout the tour and was absolutely the best driver ever. If we had to change anything we would have an extra day in San Antonio at the expense of one of the New Orleans days, but that's being picky. And everyone on the tour was lovely which was a real bonus. Graceland and Dallas/JFK were highlights as was the General Jackson river boat which was well worth the extra cash. Thank you Riviera.

Review by: Stewart Pilkington and Sue Whyment on 18/09/2018

Deep South USA Plus Texas

Just returned from our first touring holiday. A special thanks to Sylvia our brilliant tour manager and Rosy our amazing driver. We are already looking at our Riviera tour as we enjoyed this one so much. All the hotels were of a good/very good standard and it was great just being handed our room key each time we arrived and finding our luggage either in our room or just minutes behind us.

The itinerary kept us busy but we still had a good amount of free time and didn't feel exhausted - until the jet lag hit us when we got home. We saw so many amazing sights and had some great experiences

Everyone on the coach was very friendly and although there were 45 of us, this didn't cause any problems.

The weather was also very kind to us, with little rain and varied temperatures from cool to very hot - definitely recommend layers.

Looking forward to our next holiday with Riviera

Review by: Glenn and Kath Hodgkiss on 01/11/2017

Deep South USA Plus Texas

Just back from The Deep South and Texas and well done Riviera for organising such a full and successful itinerary. Under the watchful eyes of tour director Sylvia and driver Rosie from New Orleans, this was an exciting and fulfilling tour. Don't expect to lounge around or small numbers, but if you want to check off a few things on your bucket list this could be the tour for you. Usually available from both Heathrow or Manchester, this is quite a demanding tour covering over 2000 miles and you will always find people who want more time in some towns and less in others. However, the balance is just about right and (in our case) with the use of updated coaches incl on board toilets, the miles just roll past in relative comfort. The chosen hotels have been well researched and in a few cases, our group were treated to very welcome breakfasts or receptions, not included on the formal itinerary. However, with few included meals , the need to find suitable places especially in the mornings or on the road, sometimes leads to an over reliance on fast food outlets and these are not to everyone's taste. As with other reviews. we agree that one will tick off many iconic places which do not disappoint such as New Orleans, Gracelands, Studio B, the Alamo, Johnston Space Centre and the 6th floor of the Book Depositary building in Dallas from where JFK was allegedly shot. Reaching some of these iconic places inevitably means early departures from hotels but good warning is given and, as with our brilliant driver Rosie, your suitcases are carefully stored and monitored on a daily basis. Riviera need to ensure that the earlier arriving Manchester flights are met appropriately and guests are not left somewhat in limbo. All in all, this is a very good Riviera tour with usually a lot of happy and satisfied guests.

Review by: George Brown on 01/11/2017

Deep South USA Plus Texas

We have just returned from a great 2 weeks in the Deep South with Riviera. As usual, the overall organisation was excellent, from the staff in the head office to the tour manager, Sylvia, who was brilliant! Being a lovely Glaswegian with a bubbly personality and a huge sense of fun, Sylvia really helped to make our holiday one to remember. In all honesty, we think Sylvia was probably one of the most organised tour managers we have had in 19 holidays with Riviera! Our coach driver, Roosevelt, known to us as Rosey, was brilliant. He ensured we were comfortably and safely delivered to each destination and was such a laugh! Don’t expect to just be able to sit on the coach inert; there are inclusive exercises which will start the day off with a smile!

All of the organised visits were really worth seeing and interesting; whether you are interested in music and want to see Studio B or Sun Studio, or you prefer the historical attractions like the Human Rights Museum or Jackson Square in New Orleans, there is something for everyone on this holiday and much more…

The hotels were all comfortable and clean and often in walking distance to the main centres of the towns. For instance, our hotel in Memphis, was just 300 yards from Beale Street and all of the associated restaurants and bars, but not so close that you couldn’t get a good night’s sleep.

We have travelled a lot with Riviera Travel and this holiday is up there with the greats. If you were thinking of seeing the Deep South, then this is the one for you!

Review by: John Moorfield on 01/11/2017

Deep South USA Plus Texas

We had a wonderful 2 weeks with many highlights, ticking so many boxes, such as the Sixth Floor Museum in Dallas, Graceland, a night at The Grand Ole Oprey, the guided tours of the Sun Records and RCA Victor Studios, the Country Music and Johnny Cash museums in Nashville,the Houston Space Centre, The Alamo, the Jack Daniels distillery in Lynchberg...we could go on and on. The 3 days we spent in the French Quarter of New Orleans were a highlight including a steamboat ride down the Mississippi. It is a tiring tour - over 2,300 miles by coach plus a long Amtrack ride from Memphis to New Orleans and an internal flight from Fort Worth to Atlanta but worth it. Good tour manager - Debbie and a steady driver - Ivory. We would score this tour 9 out of 10. More time in Forth Worth would have been appreciated and less in San Antonio where the Riverwalk was in our view over rated. Also a small point but we were not met at the airport on our arrival and had to stand around for 45 minutes or so. We understand that there were security reasons but this should be rectified if possible. The hotel in Houston was very nice but in the middle of nowhere with no other facilities anywhere near. More breakfasts included would also have been nice but these are tiny points. Give it a try!

Review by: TREVOR & PAULINE SMITH on 31/05/2017

Deep South USA Plus Texas

A great trip, so many highlights. Well paced with little time wasted as no flying.

Don't miss the Opry.

Driver Ivory superb. Manager Bee not up to usual standard but this didn't greatly affect our enjoyment.

Texas extension needs a tweak or two, extra nights in San Antonio and Fort Worth ( both lovely ) needed.

Recommended, don't expect to lose weight.

Review by: Michael French on 03/05/2017

Deep South USA Plus Texas

My dearest friend Ann and myself have just returned from an amazing adventure to the Deep South and Texas, we both had a fantastic time visiting the Civil Rights Museum, Jack Daniels Distillery, Lookout Mountain, Nashville, Memphis Graceland, New Orleans, Plantations/Swamp Riverboat cruise up the Mississippi, NASA, San Antonio and finally Fort Worth/Dallas. There were times when it would have been nice to have spent a little longer in places, all the hotels we stayed in were very nice especially the Menger at San Antonio.

Our tour guide Debbie was excellent in organising each of the days activity and our coach driver Ivory was awesome nothing was too much trouble for him unloading our case and loading them back onto the coach after each stopover. There were 32 of us altogether on the coach who were all lovely folk, i think we all got on well together. i will definitely use Riveria again I could not fault them

Review by: Richard Burke on 12/04/2017

Deep South USA Plus Texas

Just returned from the above tour. Saw so much and did so much. It was fantastic. Saw amazing places. My husband always wanted to see Nashville, the Grand Old Opry. Country music hall of fame. And of course Studio B and Sun studio. Well his dream came true. It was all brilliant. It was very organised by our tour guide Bob and our fantastic driver Ivory. Felt safe and secure in his experienced hands. Bob kept us well informed on the areas we were visiting. The weather was also very kind to us. Perfect travelling weather as we are not hot weather people. All we needed on a couple of occasions was a fleece or a rain jacket. Would highly recommend this trip.

Review by: Audrey and Hugh Mulholland on 25/11/2015

Deep South USA Plus Texas

We have just returned from the most amazing and best holiday we have ever had. The itinerary was superb, the planning, the places we saw, the whole package was fantastic. Bob, the Tour Manager was the best ever, he was helpful, knowledgeable, very efficient and a thoroughly nice guy. Well done Riviera for putting together such a fabulous holiday. Give Bob double his salary because he certainly deserves it.

Review by: Caroline Archer on 24/11/2015

Deep South USA Plus Texas

Fantastic tour enjoyed every moment. Hotels were very good.

Bob our guide was outstanding. He gave great information on the places we were visiting. Very pleasant and helpful. He handed out our keys at every hotel we were staying at. This saved time for us on arriving at the hotels. Bob made our holiday enjoyable and stress free.

The coach driver Ivory also a great guy.

We have done other tours with you and I have to say Bob has been the best guide.

Thank you so much. Please give Bob our feedback.

Review by: Kathleen Kennedy on 11/11/2015

Deep South USA Plus Texas

What a great trip! We’ve enjoyed several Riviera long tours (Vietnam, Victoria Falls among them), and this was one of the best. Fascinating places and locations and the whole itinerary was well planned and paced. Slotting in the Amtrak ride from Memphis to New Orleans through the Mississippi and Louisiana swampland and rural communities was a special treat.

So many highlights in Nashville, Memphis, New Orleans: for anyone with any sort of feel for blues, jazz and early rock ‘n’ roll it was a delight.

Special mention for Bob our guide and Ivory our driver. They couldn’t have been more helpful and informative; they made a brilliant team.

Review by: Steve and Joan Farnsworth on 28/04/2016

Deep South USA Plus Texas

Just returned from the Deep South USA plus Texas Tour, and would like to say how pleased we were with this great experience.

Much planning obviously went into covering so many interesting places in the time.

Particular mention must be made of the excellent services of our Tour Rep Benita and Driver Roosevelt (Rosy). Both a constant source of information and light hearted fun.

Review by: Bernard Smith on 14/10/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.