[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Costa Rica

We have just returned from the most wonderful trip of a lifetime to Costa Rica. Our Tour Manager, Alex, is a credit to Riviera, nothing was too much trouble, he was courteous, kind and efficient, we always knew what was happening, and he ensured we had a surprise every day!

The trip is so well thought out, it has a fantastic mix of excursions and free time, each excursion without fail exceeded our expectations...the local guide Mariella was superb...endlessly knowledgeable about the flora and fauna, as well as the history of Costa Rica. Each day was an adventure, each trip superb, from coach driver, to catamaran crew, hotels, restaurants recommended. From start to finish this trip was a glorious celebration of wildlife, and we simply could not recommend it highly enough...thank you Alex, thank you Riviera...this is our 4th trip and the best of them all!

Review by: El Douglas on 28/09/2019

Costa Rica

Thanks to a very caring and helpful tour manager, l must thank Alex for all his hard work and surprises. And to my friends Joshua and Wilbur, excellent spotting.

We loved the log cabins in the rainforest and the bungalows near arenal. Although our next stop was a 5 star hotel on the beach most of the group would have been happy to stay on the wet side. The accommodation and food for a touring holiday was of high standard.

Thank you Riviera Travel

Review by: Alan garner on 17/03/2019

Costa Rica

Really enjoyed the tour. Birds and boat trips very enjoyable. Our tour manager Alex was exceptional. As was our nature Guide joshi, who was exceptionally well informed, and made everything so much fun. Our Driver was so polite and such a good driver. It was a pleasure to be in THEIR safe hands.

VERY ENJOYABLE! Would use them again

Review by: A bulmer on 05/03/2019

Costa Rica

Just back from a wonderful holiday in Costa Rica. A full on tour to enable us to see much of the country yet had free time built in. The wildlife was spectacular - seeing over sixty species of birds. John our tour guide couldn't have been more helpful & Mariela our local guide was brilliant in her knowledge of flora & fauna, she never tired of answering G's questions about the birds! Special mention to Fabio our driver who negotiated the 'roads' admirably. Once again thank you to Riviera.

Review by: G & J Palmer on 12/02/2019

Costa Rica

Costa Rica Paradise

We have just returned from this wonderful holiday. From the moment we all met at the airport till we said our fond farewells there was a real bond between our group. Our Tour Manager John was great and kept us amused/entertained with his joke of the day but his caring manner and his very insightful history of Costa Rica was a joy to hear. Our local guide Mariela was amazing with her keen eye spotting all manner of wildlife as well as her genuine passion, enthusiasm and her pure love of Costa Rica was truly infectious. We must also mention our fab driver Ronald who negotiated all the mountainous roads together with seemingly impassable narrow bridges with expertise and care and always had a smile on his face helping us on and off the coach. The tour took us to Tortuguero only accessible by boat where we stayed in an eco lodge with the daily chorus of birds and monkeys with equally enchanting river canals teeming with wildlife, then on to the fabulous Arenal volcano shrouded by cloud which magically drifted away periodically for a breathtaking view, followed by Monteverde cloud forest for a completely different but unique experience and then finally to the Pacific Coast for relaxation before our homeward journey. All journeys were carefully planned with plenty of rest breaks at well considered locations either with panoramic views, places of interest or with sightings of exotic birds and wildlife. All hotels were of a good standard but a little remote however each had its own breath-taking views. Even though we were a group of 34, Riviera went that extra mile trying to ensure everybody had the best experiences possible and we managed a number of impromptu stops to admire the local wildlife as it spontaneously appeared and even did an unscheduled stop at a local fiesta. This really was a great trip done at a reasonable but comfortable pace and if we could have spent a couple of more days here I would have without hesitation!

Review by: Corinne & Paul Chilton on 08/01/2019

Costa Rica

We have just returned from a memorable trip to Costa Rica. We have travelled with Riviera before, and as previously, we were not disappointed. The tour was well planned taking into account the diverse nature of the country spanning from the rainforest in Tortuguero, the volcano in Arsenal, the cloud forest in Monteverde, to the beautiful Pacific beaches of Guanacaste. The Tour Manager John was exceptional in his planning and organisation, happy to oblige and full of stories and jokes. He was well complimented by the local guide Rogelio whose enthusiasm and knowledge of wildlife and fauna were boundless.

Our highlights were the eco lodge at Tortuguero, zip wire and skywalk at Monteverde and snorkelling in the Pacific Ocean.

Review by: Steve and Claire Jennings on 20/11/2018

Costa Rica

Picked this trip as a special holiday for my wife's 50th birthday and wow, what an amazing place. From the first main stay in the rain forest of Tortuguero on the Caribbean coast through to the golden beach of Guanacaste on the Pacific coast, we loved every single minute. Our tour manager John was absolutely brilliant and had us all in stitches with his jokes and anecdotes, but also had us enthralled with some great historical stories about the region. Rogelio, our local guide, was so friendly, energetic and knowledgeable about everything. Both were an absolute joy to spend our holiday with. I've got to say that our favourite place was at the volcano at Arenal. The view was spectacular and I don't think we'll ever forget waking up to the clouds drifting across its peak. The icing on the cake, however, was the group of people on holiday with us. Made some great friends to share the great memories with. Will definitely be booking with Riviera again.

Review by: Andy & Sue Redgate on 05/05/2018

Costa Rica

A real adventure, one of our best holidays. Our first experience of Riviera Travel and we were very impressed. The tour manager (John) was very professional and friendly and looked after us really well- thought of him as a friend. The local guide was brilliant, very knowledgeable, good English and good sense of humour. The driver was excellent over some difficult roads and the coach was very comfortable. No problems!

Review by: Marion and Stephen Hart on 05/05/2018

Costa Rica

We are just back from a brilliant tour of Costa Rica and enjoyed every minute. The itinerary was well thought-out with good - some amazing - hotels - and involved lots of bird-spotting, which was the main aim of most of our fellow travellers. We were looked after throughout by wonderful tour manager Karen and local guide Josue, who was passionate and knowledgeable about everything from the wildlife to the health system of his wonderful country. And a thank you, too, to coach driver Jose who safely manoeuvred some incredibly difficult roads. Thanks, Diana and Mike

Review by: Diana Hollingsworth on 13/02/2018

Costa Rica

Just home from a brilliant tour of Costa Rica and can't praise it highly enough. Our tour manager Karen was wonderful... Superbly organised, great fun, and always available to answer any questions when needed. She was joined by local guide Josue who was passionate about his country and an inspirational mine of information on everything from the country's health service to the abundant bird life, which was the main point of the holiday for us and most of our fellow travellers. The itinerary was well planned with excellent hotels and trips, and we were chauffeured around safely by Jose, who manoeuvred the tricky roads with ease. A great holiday and we look forward to our next with Riviera travel. Many thanks, Di and Mike Hollingsworth

Review by: Diana hollingsworth on 13/02/2018

Costa Rica

The holiday/tour of Costa Rica was superb, the tour manager and guide were superb, any problems e.g. the air conditioning on the coach breaking down were quickly sorted with an added stop at a fruit stall which was great, it could have been a hot 2/3 hour wait instead it was an enjoyable extra stop. The balance of places visited was right, I felt that we really got the feel of Costa Rica and the river trips were exceptionally good for seeing the wild life close up. An excellent trip. Thank you.

Review by: Rita on 23/01/2018

Costa Rica

Magnificent Costa Rica !

We have just returned from a wonderful trip to beautiful Costa Rica with a lifetime of memories of the incredible wildlife and scenery we were privileged to see there. The trip was packed with surprises at every turn and Alex, our tour manager, and Rogelio, our tour guide, were both absolutely superb and ensured we got maximum enjoyment from our trip. Whilst the programme had many inclusive day trips, the optional tours were also varied and of high quality. My morning zip lining over the cloud forest was truly exhilarating and will live forever in my memory ! In my opinion, this is a ' must visit ' destination. Many thanks to Riviera for another wonderful experience !

Review by: Neil Halliwell on 30/01/2018

Costa Rica - from the Caribbean to the Pacific

This was our 4th Trip with Riviera so we started out with very high expectations and were not disappointed. Our Tour Manager, Karen and local guide Giovanni were a fantastic partnership. With Karen keeping everything running serenely (notwithstanding a coach stuck in the mud) and Giovanni sharing his encyclopaedic knowledge and passion for his country. Special thanks must also be given to our driver Marvin, who safely manoeuvred our coach down some very tight and winding roads. Stand out moment for me was going "superman" on the zip wire over the cloud forest in Monteverde. Top of my wife's hit list was to see a sloth - which incredibly we managed from the comfort of our breakfast table at the superb Parador in Manual Antonio. The wildlife, birds and flora are just incredible in this country and are to be seen everywhere. We even had a game of crazy golf interrupted by an Iguana invading the green! We did not visit the Caribbean side of Costa Rica on our tour as it was not part of the itinerary, but seeing that Riviera have now added this to the new itinerary a return visit is a strong possibility.

Finally, our thanks to the great group of people on our tour. What better way to end the day than by chatting over cocktails whilst looking out over the Pacific.

Pura Vida!

Review by: Kevin & Angela Fisher on 03/05/2017

Costa Rica

Just returned from wonderful Costa Rica. It was an amazing experience among the rainforest and wildlife, it was wetter than expected, however that did not dampen anyone's enthusiasm. Our tour led by Karen was the icing on the cake. she was well organised, personable, and fun. And even when our coach was stuck in mud, she led from the front. We would like to thank her once again for making it special.

Review by: philip hathaway on 03/05/2017

Costa Rica

Last day of what has been an amazing holiday. Everything we expected and so much more. From our caring manager John, our local guide Luis and the man that kept us safe with his great driving Randall we have travelled many miles seen a truly beautiful country filled with wonderful wildlife and diverse weather systems. We have lazed in thermal springs while watching fire flies. Scared ourselves silly while we zip wired through the cloud forest. Seen amazing animals, birds, reptiles and insects. Walked hanging bridge's and relaxed by beautiful sea and pools. Thank you Riviera. See you again soon

Review by: Steve & Angela Rudd on 16/03/2017

Costa Rica

We've just returned from your tour of Costa Rica and have to say it's our best holiday yet. When we booked it we weren't sure what to expect and based it mainly on the amount of wildlife we might see. I have to say we weren't disappointed. The wildlife we saw was amazing - so many different birds, monkeys, reptiles and sloths.

Being a small group of 24 we all got to know each other and it's great to feel we've made some new friends. Our tour manager Karen was fantastic - she is so knowledgeable, experienced and organised and was always on hand to be able to answer any query.

Our local guide Manfred could tell us so many interesting things on such a wide range of subjects from wildlife to the history of Costa Rica and then talk about the flora and fauna, then on to the politics. He really was very knowledgable and his English was fantastic, he did try and teach us some Spanish and by the end of the tour the coach got very good at shouting "Pura Vida" whenever he asked us how we were.

I also have to mention Jose, our unflappable coach driver. What a star and a gentleman. Nothing phased him - from the congestion of San Jose to the "road" leading up the mountain to Monteverde. He was also good at spotting wildlife and even reversed the coach to point out a sloth. He also stopped the coach to pick some unusual fruit or nuts to show us and he helped to dry out our wet weather gear when we got rather damp in the cloud forest after zip lining.

The itinerary of the tour was varied and offered something for everyone. The accommodation was generally very good, but the time spent at the hotel Parador in Manual Antonio was I think a favourite for all of us. This was paradise - the grounds, the staff, the rooms, the wildlife.....we would have been happy to stay longer.

Review by: Sally & Rupert Scargill on 02/03/2017

Costa Rica

Having been on several Riviera tours, this one is up there. Costa Rica is a beautiful and varied country for such a relatively small area. The biodiversity smacks you between the eyes - rich and dense flora and extraordinary wildlife at every turn of the head. We saw volcanoes, tropical rainforests and meandering rivers to the north and cloud forests and beaches backed by lush vegetation as we ventured further south. All linked by a succession of national parks, excellent food and accommodation en route - imagine gazing at a volcano from the luxury of a hot tub! Our experience was enhanced by our friendly travelling companions and our excellent tour team; manager John, an eloquent and humorous raconteur committed to ensuring we gained as much as possible from this tour; local guide Edgardo, interesting and informative on all aspects of Costa Rica and clearly passionate about his wonderful country and,of course the ever smiling Minor, who negotiated us safely from place to place. Although it is a full itinerary, unlike some other trips, there is some downtime to relax and reflect on the experience. Riviera's Costa Rica is definitely one to do.

Review by: Geoff and Lyn Wilkins on 09/02/2017

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.