If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

Classical Italy Tour

I’m recently home from my first holiday with Riviera and just want to thank everyone involved.  The hotels and transport were excellent, comfortable and efficient.  But the star of the show was most definitely our tour guide Vanessa (I’m sorry, I didn’t get her surname) - her humour and knowledge made the whole experience flow.  She had us rolling in the isles with her jokes, singing happy birthday and ordering our food in Italian and went way above expectations on our free day in Rome, where she took several of us by bus to the Trevi fountain before letting us loose in Rome, well equipped with her excellent directions.

Many, many thanks to you all.

Review by Anita Scott on 24 October 2016

Now that we’ve recovered from all the walking around Italy on our wonderful holiday with you I felt that I should e-mail you to say that our tour guide, Vanessa, was amazing! I have spent over 35 years in teaching, have trained many young teachers, but have very rarely found such an inspirational young teacher as Vanessa!
You should pay her double because she is so good!
Best wishes

Review by Liz Cosslett on 21 October 2016

My wife and I have just returned home after a wonderful holiday in Italy. My wife has used Riviera Travel before and so suggested we booked this holiday. I was impressed with everything from beginning to end and our guide Norman was great. We’ll certainly use Riviera Travel again and recommend it to others.


Review by Christopher & Roberta Whittle on 14 October 2016

We have just returned from our second Riviera tour and we enjoyed this one just as much. It is quite simply the best way to cram so much into a taster holiday for a given region. Riviera organise everything for you and their choice of hotels and excursions is excellent. Both hotels we stayed in in Arezzo and Rome were luxurious and friendly; the food was excellent. Our tour manager, Vanessa was extremely good, a bilingual resident of Rome who was caring, thoughtful and a real livewire. She never stopped working and we loved her sense of humour. The local guides that we had at Florence, Siena, Arezzo and Rome were very good and the whole week cohered into a memorable experience. It was full on with a lot of walking but we were up for that and we have come home with a real taste of the region, a desire to return and we are already choosing our next Riviera holiday - excellent value !


Review by Richard and Deborah Willshire on 16 October 2016

Have just returned from our second tour with Riviera. Could not fault it, our guide Carlotta was knowledgeable, helpful, friendly and always available. The Hotels in both Tuscany and Rome were first class, the tours of the various cities with local guides excellent, it meant you learned so much more about the places you visited. Can’t wait for next tour.

Review by Bob & Pam Cannon on 30 September 2016

I have just returned from the Classical Italy tour and have had an amazing time. I could not have asked for a better holiday. The excursions, hotels and food were fabulous. Having several food allergies I was concerned about the food during the tour however the staff at the hotels were happy to cater to my requirements. My thanks also go to the tour guide Norman, he was fantastic. He was more than happy to go over and beyond to ensure that we had a fantastic holiday whilst making sure that holidaymakers of all abilities were kept happy. Thank you so much Norman for all your help.

Review by Helena Dyer on 9 September 2016

My sister, her partner and I did the Classical Italian Tour on May 16-23, 2016. It was simply marvelous to have such knowledgeable and very caring tour manager, Giovanna, with driver Antonio. Everyday was fun-filled and gratifying experience. The local guides in Arezzo, Siena, Florence and Rome were phenomenally knowledgeable and made the tour even more enjoyable (my apologies for not remembering all their names). There was nothing in this trip that I would like to change or improve. Of course, a big part of this successful trip were the British nationals who were with us. I’d probably re-do this tour again with this company and go back to Hotel Minerva. 5-stars for this company.

Review by Charito Love on 2 September 2016

So impressed by the tour.  Our guide Antonio Rosso was superb and it was him that really made our trip so enjoyable.  He had an inexhaustible knowledge of the country and always went the extra mile to ensure we were having a good time.  The only point I would make is that the second hotel we stayed in should provide free wi-fi as it was very expensive!  Other than that a really great time and cannot wait to book with you again!

Review by Sharon James on 1 July 2016

Thank you for a memorable trip, first time with you as well. Tour Manger (Denise) was excellent and we felt that all round we had had our money’s worth and seen all we expected. Our only comment was that a Coliseum/Forum optional tour could also be included.

Review by Ken and Chris Paskin on 22 May 2016

Another great tour with Riviera and as well as all the ‘big names’ it was great to see places we would not think to visit if just booking independently with a flight to Rome: Arezzo is a gem.  Norman was a joy and made herding cats look easy with unfailing good humour.  Wonderful group (Just want to say a special goodbye to travelling companion Christine Hart as we were both ‘solos’ but missed her at Gatwick).  Will be travelling with Riviera to Croatia next week and know I can be confident in my expectations; thanks again to all, including the Back Office.

Review by Jill Cowan on 28 April 2016

I must thank Rivera for a wonderful holiday spent in Tuscany and Rome. It was really well organised and our tour manager was superb and looked after us really well. The hotels were very good and the food excellent. The guided tours were very interesting and gave me a flavour of places I would like to re-visit at some time in the future. Many thanks Riviera. I would definitely recommend you to friends and family and will look forward to booking another holiday with you in the future.
Travelled on 21/06/2012

Review by Mrs Rosemary Jenkins, Blackwood, Caerphilly on 13 July 2012

A friend and I have just come back from the Classical Italy tour. It was the first time I had travelled with Riviera and I have to say the holiday was wonderful. The trip was well organised and our Tour Manager was fantastic, he knew each area well and was able to give us great advice on what to see when we were left to our own devices. He also managed the whole holiday well from the time he met us at the airport until the time he saw us safely to check-in on the way home. I can’t give the holiday or the Tour Manager enough praise, so much was packed into the week’s travel. Travelled on 29/04/2012

Review by Bettee Bourner, Northamptonshire on 12 May 2012

My husband and I have just returned from this tour in Italy. This is the first time we have travelled with Riviera and we have been very impressed. Our tour manager was so well organised and every day was a new delight. Her enthusiasm for the area was obvious and nothing was too much trouble.We shall certainly be travelling with you again.
Travelled on 13/05/2011

Review by Mrs Lawes, Hastings on 21 May 2011

We have just returned from the Classical Italy tour and would like to say what a lovely time we had. The country, the people in our group, and the weather were all great. In particular, we would like to praise our tour guide. She was excellent from the moment we got off the plane to the moment we took our flight home. Thank you.
Travelled on 05/10/2010

Review by John & Janet Shaw, Galway, Ireland on 19 October 2010

This was my first tour and my first Riviera Travel experience. Normally I prefer to manage my own holidays but Riviera Travel was recommended by members of my family, who have been on several of their tours. The tour got off to a shaky start because of flight delays, due to volcanic ash. However Riviera still had someone to take charge of us when we eventually arrived late in Rome. The whole cultural experience was excellent and the visits to Siena, Florence, Assisi and then Rome were absolutely superb. Our Tour Manager was excellent and was extremely efficient and anticipated all we needed throughout the week. With there easy manner, good organisational skills, wealth of knowledge and constant good humour, they made a very significant contribution to the success of the trip. The two hotels we stayed in were comfortable and friendly and the guides that were chosen for each of the visits were very knowledgeable and communicated well. Well done Riviera. I will certainly be considering other holidays with you and will recommend your Company to my friends.
Travelled on 17/05/2010

Review by Mr Derek McBryde on 27 May 2010

This was our first Riviera Travel experience having been recommended by friends who had previously taken the same tour. What a holiday it proved to be. The whole trip was excellent, the tours to Florence, Siena, Assisi and finally Rome was absolutely superb. The hotels, guides, coaches and drivers - we ran out of adjectives, even for our hostess was efficient, happy, friendly, helpful and most of all very professional. Then of course came the Icelandic volcano! We were all worried about how we were going to get home, but we need not have worried. Riviera had it all worked out and whilst 2 days on a coach may not be everyone’s idea of a holiday, we had a wonderful extension to our holiday, everyone enjoying the scenery of central Italy and Switzerland. There was obviously the unseen help given by the office staff who were in constant communication with our tour manager. Well done Riviera, we will certainly be using you again and will recommend your Company to our friends.
Travelled on 13/04/2010

Review by Mike Toms, Tewkesbury on 23 April 2010

I visited ‘Classical’ italy with Riviera Travel in September 2012 and had a fabulous holiday (my second with Riviera) ... great companions, good hotels, good food and good weather - all topped off by the wonderful tour manager, our very efficient tour
manager and her knowledgeable local guides who brought the sights alive with their combination of fact and humour. The three coins went into Rome’s Trevi fountain to ensure that I return - there is still so much to see and do! An extra day would have been welcome.
Travelled on 16/09/2012

Review by Ron Munro on 5 November 2012

The areas visited on this tour have been on our wish list for a long time and we enjoyed every minute of the holiday. The tour manager, Julia was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic as were the other guides.  Thank you Riviera Travel for looking after us so well.

Review by Doris and Gerry Young on 22 May 2013

Fantastic trip, everything was perfect! Paula the tour guide was an angel…she was very knowledgeable, informative and great fun! We would recommend it to anybody and we will definitely use Riviera Travel again.

Review by John & Jo Tibble on 3 June 2013

The tour was hugely enjoyable. Very well organised and well balanced. The places visited were wonderful, not just Florence and Siena, but Arezzo is a gem. The local guides were first class and our Riviera guide, Christopher, was fantastic He was informative in a humorous way. He made sure everyone was okay and clear about arrangements and was vigilant in very crowded places.              
I will certainly book with the company again and recommend others do the same.

Review by Sue Jenkinson on 17 June 2013

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.