[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Canada’s Rocky Mountaineer & Alaska Cruise

What can I say - this holiday of a lifetime was just that. We have never used Riviera before as we have always arranged our own holidays (on a much smaller scale). I can honestly say I can't wait to use them again and would have no hesitation in recommending them to our friends.

Our tour manager Annette was fantastic. She met us at Calgary Airport (having flown out with us) and whilst all around her were wilting she was on top of everything. What she didn't know google wouldn't have known either!!! She was friendly and fun to be with but she always remained professional. The whole experience was amazing and everything we could have dreamed of. What was really nice was that Annette also accompanied us on the cruise, and whilst that probably wasn't really necessary, was a lovely touch. It's always nice to have a friendly face on hand. Not that we had any issues on the ship.

Bring on the next holiday

Review by: Susan & Andrew Smith on 15/09/2018

Canada’s Rocky Mountaineer & Alaska Cruise

We were met at Calgary by our very experienced and well informed Guide Annette, and from then on we experienced an amazing adventure. The hotels were excellent and well positioned, The Rocky Mountaineer was a wonderful wildlife/scenic extravaganza, we were in Silver and had excellent food, service, comfort and views. The Alaskan Cruise was seven days of blissful scenery, wildlife and wonderful experiences. We will definitely be travelling with Riviera again.

Review by: Susan Lindley on 09/06/2018

Canada’s Rocky Mountaineer & Alaska Cruise

What an experience! This is our second trip with Riviera and not our last. A smooth transition from Heathrow to Calgary where we were met by 2 tour guides which did seem to be a little confusing but our tour guide soon took the reins and sorted everything out. Calgary is a beautiful mix of old and new. We did a short stop of the stampede ground before a further stop at the Olympic Park and finally ended up in Banff for a few nights. We did a few excursions around the Banff area ( with lots of wildlife experience) but also had plenty of free time to do our own things. The rocky mountaineer train is a magnificent experience in itself. I would definitely recommend the upgrade to the gold leaf service - truly amazing, not only is the service superb but the views are much better due to being much higher up. Vancouver was spectacular, again enough free time to enjoy the city.

I can honestly say that despite an amazing time so far, the cruise to Alaska was for me the best part of the trip, I'm a wildlife fanatic so this cruise blew me away. We paid the extra for an outside cabin with a balcony and it was worth every penny. To sit outside in an evening and watch the whales swim past was something else. The extra excursions were great value for money, we did the sawyer glacier trip, whale watching, beach bonfire and white pass railway trips. All were very well organised and informative. This was an experience of a lifetime, however, it was all made seamless by our excellent tour manager 'B'. An amazing lady who really knows her stuff! What little she doesn't know about the area, she finds out for you. She was the icing on the cake!

Review by: Julia Bennett-Everington on 17/06/2017

Canada’s Rocky Mountaineer & Alaska Cruise

My wife and I have just returned from a holiday of a lifetime made even better by our guide Nickie who was helpful and very well organised. The trip on the Rockie mountaineer was made even better by the wonderful crew on-board who couldn't do enough for you to make the experience even more memorable. This is the 4th time we have used Riviera Travel and will certainly be doing so again.

Review by: Malcolm Macmenemey on 02/09/2017

Canada’s Rocky Mountaineer & Alaska Cruise

My sister and I travelled to the above destination on 17th June and would like you to know that the holiday was great, the organisation was excellent, as were the hotels, the Rocky Mountaineer train journey and the cruise.

I would like to commend "Bee", our Riviera escort, for all her hard work in ensuring everything ran smoothly. Bee did everything she could to make our holiday most enjoyable and smooth running. A wonderful representative of Riviera Travel.

Your staff at your HO were also extremely helpful when I booked the holiday and when I needed help with documentation before I left.

My first trip with Riviera was impressive, many thanks.

Review by: Mrs Carole Baker on 17/06/2017

Canada’s Rocky Mountaineer & Alaska Cruise

A special holiday to celebrate our wedding anniversary. From start to finish everything went extremely well. Hotels excellent. Our tour manager Annette was brilliant, got to know everyone, always friendly, smiling and laughing. Helped to make the holiday. Even the Canadian and Alaskan weather was kind. Would recommend this holiday. Rocky Mountaineer was excellent and we thought the upgrade to Gold Leaf was worth having. Would definitely use Riviera again

Review by: Andrew Sherriff on 22/07/2017

Canada’s Rocky Mountaineer & Alaska Cruise

My partner and I have just returned from Canada/ Alaska Cruise and would like to say a big thanks to your company and especially Susanne who accompanied us. The whole holiday more than met our expectations.

We are looking forward to the river cruise we have booked with you for next June.

Review by: Shirley & Jeremy on 10/07/2017

Canada’s Rocky Mountaineer & Alaska Cruise

We have just returned from an amazing trip to Canada and Alaska with your company, and would definitely recommend the trip and Riviera Travel. Our guide Annette was superb and really made our trip more enjoyable. We were a little apprehensive about going on an organised trip, but we needn't have worried and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I am now looking at your brochure to see where we can go next year.

Review by: Karen and Ian Allan on 06/05/2017

Canada’s Rocky Mountaineer & Alaska Cruise

What a fabulous holiday we have had, Caroline our tour guide was great, helpful, informative and fun. We also had a great bunch of people in our group, which made the holiday even more enjoyable for us.

The hotels were of a good standard, Banff was one of our favourite places, the Kamloops one was a bit basic, however for just one night it was adequate.

The Rocky Mountaineer was great, lovely scenery and the highlight for me was seeing a Black Bear. The service and food was very good.

Although we had been to Vancouver before we did see some parts that we hadn't seen so that was a bonus for us.

The Alaskan Cruise was great, so lucky with the weather, apart from rain in Juneau, however that didn't matter too much to us as we stayed on board that day.

We saw all that we had expected to see and more, lovely scenery, snow topped mountains, ice bergs, whales and the lumberjack show in Ketchikan was great fun.

All in all it was a lovely time and a great experience. We really can't find fault with anything of any consequence and feel very lucky to have been able to do this trip. We'd recommend it to anyone. In fact our two daughters have it on their bucket lists now. Many thanks again Riviera for making our holiday a great experience.

Review by: D & M Barratt on 13/05/2017

Canada’s Rocky Mountaineer & Alaska Cruise

I am writing to say how pleased we were with riviera for organising this complex itinerary. Everything went smoothly and efficiently and adequate time was given for all the sights visited and also enough free time in each place. Our tour manager Caroline was quiet and calm and a reassuring unobtrusive presence at all times which we very much appreciated. She could also be chatty if you wanted to talk! The drivers were all good as were the hotels chosen except for the 540 hotel in kamloops which was dingy with uncomfortable beds, more like 2 star than 3.The rocky mountaineer train was a great experience with attentive hosts and very good food if in small

Portions! However, there was hardly any wild life to spot and only the river and other trains to see. It is still a fun way to travel to Vancouver! The cruise was well organised and with good food and lovely cabin, who would complain! The shore excursions were q pricey though but worthwhile except for a couple in Skagway. All in all, thank you to riviera for putting together a very interesting and enjoyable itinerary which was good value for money

Review by: Dr Vibha Rao on 13/05/2017

Canada’s Rocky Mountaineer & Alaska Cruise

This holiday was our ‘big one’ and in all respects it lived up to and exceeded our expectations. It was fantastic!

From the beginning the support and guidance from the Riviera staff, especially Val, was excellent. Caroline, our guide, brought the tour to life with her knowledge of the locations and the points of interest. She took every care to ensure we enjoyed our holiday. All the people we met, in the shops, restaurants and tours and especially the bus drivers, were obviously very proud of their countries, Alaska & British Columbia, and took great pleasure in making us feel welcome. Similarly the crew on the cruise gave excellent service throughout.

As for the holiday what can one say when everything we saw was absolutely out of this world - outstanding beauty, majestic mountains lakes and glaciers and much more. The Rocky Mountaineer was awesome.

Thank you Riviera for helping us experience our ‘big holiday’.

Review by: Peter & Ann Leatherland on 18/07/2014

Canada’s Rocky Mountaineer & Alaska Cruise

Our second trip with Riviera did not disappoint. Guide Caroline was fantastic, so knowledgeable and reassuring, nothing phased her. An amazing experience with a lovely group. Stunning scenery - Gold Leaf on the Rocky Mountaineer definitely worth the extra. Enjoyed bus/coach drivers information and sense of humour, all excursions well organised and exceptionally good weather added to our experience. Too many magic moments to mention so can you do the East coast please Riviera?

Review by: Liz on 19/06/2014

Canada’s Rocky Mountaineer & Alaska Cruise

Superbly organised trip, the scenery was outstanding, accommodation likewise. The cruise was memorable. Nice group of people in our party. “B” our tour guide was very professional, very knowledgeable and one of the best tour guides its been our pleasure to meet. Highly recommended.

Review by: Lod on 10/10/2013

Canada’s Rocky Mountaineer & Alaska Cruise

Absolutely fabulous time, weather very kind and venues fantastic. Many many thanks to our tour guide “B” who made everything run smoothly even when little hiccups occurred which were out of her hands. Very impressed with all accommodation and transfers which were of an extremely high standard. Very in depth knowledge given to us about everything by our guide and all other people involved in our trip. Thank you Riviera Travel, we will be using you again.

Review by: Marion Cottingham on 06/10/2013

Canada’s Rocky Mountaineer & Alaska Cruise

This was our third tour with Riviera, and yes, we will be back for more! Well-organised, informative, with excellent accommodation and attentive tour guides throughout, we were also blessed with magical weather which provided sunshine and clear skies throughout. Caroline our tour guide accurately described the holiday as a three-in-one, and how appropriate. The bus from Calgary to Banff, followed by the Rocky Mountaineer train to Vancouver and then the cruise ship to Alaska provided distinctly different aspects but all equally enthralling and immensely rewarding. There were so many “wow” moments,......simply too many to count. Thank you, Riviera!

Review by: Mike Firth on 15/08/2013

Canada’s Rocky Mountaineer & Alaska Cruise

WOW, what a holiday. The best I have ever had, and I have had some good ones. Because of the floods in Calgary we had to use another hotel which was quite adequate. We could not go to Banff because the roads were washed away so we went to Jasper the long way round. There was 44 of us in our group and not one complaint. It was excellent. Two days in Jasper then off to Banff for one night. The next day, thanks to the floods we could not take the train so we were transferred by coach to Golden where we joined the Rocky mountaineer. Back on schedule. We were well looked after on the train. In Vancouver we had the coach tour around the city. What a lovely place, so clean and tidy. The cruise was the icing on the cake. This was our fifth cruise and it was brilliant. Gorgeous scenery, superb food and lovely company, what more do you want? It seemed to last forever, unfortunately it didn’t. As for our guide Suzanne, she ended up as a friend to all of us. She was wonderful such a lovely lady, a credit to Riviera. Yes there were tears when we parted company . Do I recommend this holiday with Riviera, YOU BET I DO.

Review by: Keith Dugdale on 22/07/2013

Canada’s Rocky Mountaineer & Alaska Cruise

What a fantastic holiday the best ever. Everything about this tour was perfect, the hotels, the Rocky Mountaineer and the cruise up to Alaska. Our tour guide B, well she was so informative as she used to live in Canada, such a nice lady. Our bus driver guide, called David is actually a mountain man the stories he told were so interesting and of cause he just had massive underpinning knowledge of the area we visited.

We travelled as a family and are now looking at other tours with this company.

Thank you for such a fab holiday.

Review by: Eileen Cartie on 01/11/2016

Canada’s Rocky Mountaineer & Alaska Cruise

Jeannie and l had a wonderful trip to Canada, we omitted the Alaskan Cruise. Well looked after in the safe hands of Jerry our driver, top man! And lovely Caroline so informative, nothing was too much trouble, a real star! So thank you both. The trip was very well organised, everything was absolutely superb on the Rocky Mountaineer, the staff the food and drink the scenery through the Rockies, l could go on. Holiday of a lifetime, you must do it everyone!

Review by: Maureen kulbicki on 01/07/2016

Canada’s Rocky Mountaineer & Alaska Cruise

Jeannie and l had a wonderful trip to Canada, we omitted the Alaskan Cruise. Well looked after in the safe hands of Jerry our driver, top man! And lovely Caroline so informative, nothing was too much trouble, a real star! So thank you both. The trip was very well organised, everything was absolutely superb on the Rocky Mountaineer, the staff the food and drink the scenery through the Rockies, l could go on. Holiday of a lifetime, you must do it everyone!

Review by: Maureen kulbicki on 01/07/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.