If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

Canada’s Rocky Mountaineer & Alaska Cruise

Jeannie and l had a wonderful trip to Canada, we omitted the Alaskan Cruise. Well looked after in the safe hands of Jerry our driver, top man! And lovely Caroline so informative, nothing was too much trouble, a real star! So thank you both. The trip was very well organised, everything was absolutely superb on the Rocky Mountaineer, the staff the food and drink the scenery through the Rockies, l could go on. Holiday of a lifetime, you must do it everyone!

Review by Maureen kulbicki on 1 July 2016

What a fantastic holiday the best ever.  Everything about this tour was perfect, the hotels, the Rocky Mountaineer and the cruise up to Alaska.  Our tour guide B, well she was so informative as she used to live in Canada, such a nice lady.  Our bus driver guide, called David is actually a mountain man the stories he told were so interesting and of cause he just had massive underpinning knowledge of the area we visited. 
We travelled as a family and are now looking at other tours with this company. 
Thank you for such a fab holiday.

Review by Eileen Cartie on 11 June 2016

WOW, what a holiday. The best I have ever had, and I have had some good ones. Because of the floods in Calgary we had to use another hotel which was quite adequate. We could not go to Banff because the roads were washed away so we went to Jasper the long way round. There was 44 of us in our group and not one complaint. It was excellent. Two days in Jasper then off to Banff for one night. The next day, thanks to the floods we could not take the train so we were transferred by coach to Golden where we joined the Rocky mountaineer. Back on schedule. We were well looked after on the train. In Vancouver we had the coach tour around the city. What a lovely place, so clean and tidy. The cruise was the icing on the cake. This was our fifth cruise and it was brilliant. Gorgeous scenery, superb food and lovely company, what more do you want? It seemed to last forever, unfortunately it didn’t. As for our guide Suzanne, she ended up as a friend to all of us. She was wonderful such a lovely lady, a credit to Riviera. Yes there were tears when we parted company . Do I recommend this holiday with Riviera, YOU BET I DO.

Review by Keith Dugdale on 22 July 2013

This was our third tour with Riviera, and yes, we will be back for more!   Well-organised, informative, with excellent accommodation and attentive tour guides throughout, we were also blessed with magical weather which provided sunshine and clear skies throughout.  Caroline our tour guide accurately described the holiday as a three-in-one, and how appropriate.  The bus from Calgary to Banff, followed by the Rocky Mountaineer train to Vancouver and then the cruise ship to Alaska provided distinctly different aspects but all equally enthralling and immensely rewarding. There were so many “wow” moments,......simply too many to count. Thank you, Riviera!

Review by Mike Firth on 15 August 2013

Absolutely fabulous time, weather very kind and venues fantastic.  Many many thanks to our tour guide “B” who made everything run smoothly even when little hiccups occurred which were out of her hands.  Very impressed with all accommodation and transfers which were of an extremely high standard.  Very in depth knowledge given to us about everything by our guide and all other people involved in our trip.  Thank you Riviera Travel, we will be using you again.

Review by marion cottingham on 6 October 2013

Superbly organised trip, the scenery was outstanding, accommodation likewise. The cruise was memorable. Nice group of people in our party. “B” our tour guide was very professional, very knowledgeable and one of the best tour guides its been our pleasure to meet. Highly recommended.

Review by Lod on 10 October 2013

Our second trip with Riviera did not disappoint. Guide Caroline was fantastic, so knowledgeable and reassuring, nothing phased her. An amazing experience with a lovely group. Stunning scenery - Gold Leaf on the Rocky Mountaineer definitely worth the extra. Enjoyed bus/coach drivers information and sense of humour, all excursions well organised and exceptionally good weather added to our experience. Too many magic moments to mention so can you do the East coast please Riviera?

Review by Liz on 19 June 2014

This holiday was our ‘big one’ and in all respects it lived up to and exceeded our expectations. It was fantastic!

From the beginning the support and guidance from the Riviera staff, especially Val, was excellent. Caroline, our guide, brought the tour to life with her knowledge of the locations and the points of interest.  She took every care to ensure we enjoyed our holiday. All the people we met, in the shops, restaurants and tours and especially the bus drivers, were obviously very proud of their countries, Alaska & British Columbia, and took great pleasure in making us feel welcome. Similarly the crew on the cruise gave excellent service throughout.

As for the holiday what can one say when everything we saw was absolutely out of this world - outstanding beauty, majestic mountains lakes and glaciers and much more. The Rocky Mountaineer was awesome.
Thank you Riviera for helping us experience our ‘big holiday’.

Review by Peter & Ann Leatherland on 18 July 2014

A wonderful holiday that cannot be praised highly enough. Our guide Caroline was excellent, everything organised and stress free. Amazing scenery on both weeks and the Rocky mountaineer was amazing, Sliver Leaf a good choice. We also upgraded to a veranda cabin for the cruise, worth every penny. A cruise of the highest standards of service, nothing was too much trouble. caution: choose the excursions with care. Juneau whale-watching and skagway train summit train journey were good value for money. In Ketchican we spent the time wandering around the town. Some fabulous locally made souvenirs available.  Done it again Riviera! top Marks!!

Review by pauline walker on 3 September 2014

4th Riviera tour, up to all expectations. Very lucky with the weather. Make the most of all extras. Wonderful views and memories of the Rockies, worth upgrading to gold leaf on the Mountaineer. Vancouver very high rise but plenty to do and see. Alaska very special, super cruise. Love the Canadian beds. Caroline was our tour manager

Review by sue and brian kinghorn on 7 September 2015

Have just returned from a fantastic tour of the Canadian Rockies and Alaskan Cruise. This was our fourth trip with Riviera and once again you have excelled. Our tour manager Benito was brilliant, very knowledgeble and helpful. Also special praise to Murray our coach driver and guide in Calgary and Banff his knowledge and sense of humour were faultless. Each day was a different experience Banff was a delightful place the trip on the Rocky Mountaineer was excellent and the cruise in Alaska was amazing. Would highly recommend this tour. Once again thank you Riviera for a brilliant holiday.

Review by Sylvia and Michael Griffin on 2 October 2015

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.