[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

California & the Golden West

We would like to commend this trip to other travellers. the itinerary was superb and our guide Jayne Dunnett was extremely knowledgeable and always willing to help whatever the question big or small.

Also the driver Clifton was always there with a smile. - What a team!

Thank you for a great holiday which we are sure we will remember with fond memories for a long time. we have used Riviera travel before for a trip to South Africa and again you have done a fantastic job. Thank you.

Review by: Pauline And Duncan Seaman on 04/06/2019

California & the Golden West

Absolutely fantastic holiday. Our tour leader Jayne was great very friendly and knowledgeable. Also coach driver Clifton was excellent. The whole holiday was amazing with the bonus of great weather too. This was our first holiday with Riviera and we would not hesitate to travel with you again. Again high praise goes to Jayne and Clifton for a smooth and a once in a life time experience. Thank you so much Eian & Lesley Wall.

Review by: Eian Wall on 29/11/2018

California & the Golden West

A friend and I returned from our wonderful trip to America 2 weeks ago and I am still savouring the amazing sights we visited, We had wanted to see the National Parks and boy did we see some, Grand Canyon, which we not only saw from the rim but also by helicopter, Monument Valley, Bryce Canyon, Zion and also Yosemite. Each one was amazing in their own ways and the skill of Jayne our tour guide and Louis our driver in pointing out and getting to the best views, enhanced our experiences even more. There was lots of travelling to get to each destination but lovely scenery on the way and lots of information from Jayne about everything of interest.

We also stayed in several cities but the parks were my favourites and Riviera had certainly given us the best of the best. Congratulations and many thanks to everyone involved with our holiday, especially Jayne.

This was our 4th trip with Riviera and we have another one booked for next March. (to Sri Lanka) Many thanks

Review by: Jackie Stevenson on 05/09/2018

California & the Golden West

Our 7th trip with Riviera and by far the best. Early starts most days and a lot of travelling in the coach but it was well worth it to see all the wonderful sights including Grand Canyon, Bryce Canyon and Zion and Yosemite National Parks. The jeep ride in Monument Valley with a Navajo guide is never to be forgotten. Loved the visits to LA, San Diego and Las Vegas. The tour ended in San Francisco at the Golden Gate Bridge. A fitting end to a fabulous trip. Our thanks to our lovely and knowledgeable guide Jayne and splendid driver Lewis, both a credit to Riviera. Last but not least our companions on the trip who made the tour even more enjoyable. No doubt we will be using Riviera again.

Review by: Joan andJulie on 05/09/2018

California & the Golden West

Have just returned from the USA - Fabulous Trip. Jayne our guide and Lewis our driver: both were outstanding professionals. Nothing was too much trouble, enabling us to experience the best the West has to offer, without wasting any time. This did mean early starts and a lot of travelling, but there were plenty of breaks, and the hotels were conveniently located. The optional trips such as a show in Las Vagas, the helicopter flight over the Grand Canyon, the 4x4 trip in Monument Valley etc, are additional costs but you ought to consider them as a must have as they provide an extra “wow” factor. Book an Alcatraz tour on the internet well before you travel to avoid disappointment. Some didn’t and were unable to obtain tickers during the trip.

Review by: John on 04/09/2018

California & the Golden West

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour but its not for the faint hearted. It is full on with a lot of coach travel but the sights and experiences make up for this in bucket loads and we would do it again in a heart beat. Linda our guide and Nick the coach driver were both absolutely marvellous - a couple of megastars.

Its hard to pick a highlight - it was all so enjoyable and so different but we did enjoy the Route 66 part and would like to have spent more time in both San Diego and San Francisco. Perhaps Riviera Travel could consider a tour starting in San Diego, moving on to San Francisco and then finishing in New York?

Las Vegas is something to behold we even gambled and lost a dollar! As we were only in town for 2 nights we booked the optional evening trip to the Vegas show and meal for the second night. Whilst we really enjoyed the night out in the company of our fellow travellers, we didn't feel the meal and show were at all value for money. The show was a bit disappointing and the meal was a Brazilian buffet with loads of meat on skewers which isn't to everyone's taste and whilst there was a vegetarian option, this consisted of half an onion, half a red pepper, and couple of pieces of courgette roasted on a skewer and served as everyone else was about finished as it took such a long time to cook (or did they forget?) It was pizza in the hotel bar for supper that night. That said, we laughed it off, thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and the pizza was pretty special too.

For anybody else considering this tour without hesitation we would say go for it and we hope you have Linda and Nick to share the experience with. It's a hectic itinerary, at times very tiring but if you are well prepared, travel light and comfortable living out of a suitcase its well worth it. The only thing we wouldn't do again was the optional Vegas show and meal - we would spend a free night enjoying the sights of Vegas with tongue very firmly in cheek.

Review by: Pam & Dave Hayes on 21/05/2018

California & the Golden West

This must be our sixth trip with Riviera and as ever we were very pleased with everything about the tour. It’s the most tiring one we’ve been on because of the miles travelled but as ever the itinerary, hotels, quality and breadth were excellent. I would particularly like to mention the tour guide, Linda and the bus driver, Nick. They worked over and above at all times. They were always ready to help, very knowledgeable about the places we visited and as a team worked most effectively. If there is such a thing I would nominate them as employees of the year.

Review by: Viv Mckee on 21/05/2018

California & the Golden West

The Geordie Girls have just returned from a holiday of a lifetime on the California and the Golden West tour. We all want to thank our tour manager Jayne and our driver Clifton for making it so special. Jayne is an asset to your company with her vast amount of knowledge and professionalism. Clifton, always punctual is an exceptional driver and gave us the safest journey from start to finish and him and Jayne worked very well together. The itinerary which took us through Arizona, Utah, Nevada and California was jam packed and even though we had early starts in the morning, it was well worth it for the spectacular views and scenery in the National Parks we visited. Our fellow passengers were a canny bunch too and we ‘brightened their journey’ !!! We especially had fun on the karaoke night singing along to Mama Mia then ‘The Cliffettes’ were backing singers to Clifton’s ‘sitting on the dock of the bay’….Priceless. We were sad to leave and had emotional farewells at the end of the holiday but happy memory making of an unforgettable journey is what we bring home.

Review by: Anne Coyle on 11/04/2018

California & the Golden West

We would like you to pass on out thanks to Benita for her support and work to ensure we had a spectacular holiday in America. She was extremely well informed with plenty of additional information.

She had to deal with ice flood wind and snow but we covered many more sights than other tours.

Thank you once again we will be recommending your holidays to others

Review by: Margaret and Keith Ackroyd. on 14/03/2018

California & the Golden West

Really enjoyed the tour. Chris, the guide was knowledgeable and really interactive with the group. Coach driver was a bit miserable. Only made eye contact when we gave him the envelope containing his tip ( which was much smaller than we would have given if he had been more amenable- still he drove the coach OK).

The areas we visited were fantastic. Grand Canyon, Monument Valley ( do take the jeep tour) . Zion National Park and Bryce Canyon were even more spectacular. Arrived at Las Vegas . San Francisco was better than I remembered and Alcatraz is worth a visit. We were blessed by being there during Columbus weekend and there was a massive parade through the Italian part of town followed by an air display over the bay by the Canadian reds and the American blue arrows. Fantastic bonus. Hotels were all different but consistently good(no coffee machine in the Las Vegas hotel was a bit bit mean!) The Sonora Creek Best Western was really Hillbilly rustic and more than half the group had a great after dinner Karaoke in the bar with some of the locals. glad to say we out song them but they came up trumps on the 'line dancing'!

All in all we really enjoyed the trip and recommend it to everyone. Well done Riviera!

Review by: JOE FLYNN and CAROL FLYNN on 26/09/2017

California & the Golden West

Your California and the Golden West Holiday i went on.23/08/17 Was brilliant and i have recommended it to all my friends a credit to Riviera travel.It could not have been better Are tour guide Michele and driver Clifton were fantastic .

Review by: peter simms on 23/08/2017

California & the Golden West

I have just returned from a wonderful holiday , Richard our tour manager was very informative through out the tour. our driver cliff did a wonderful job driving through some rough terrain I would recommend this holiday long days but well worth it

Review by: barbara hetherington on 13/09/2017

California & the Golden West

Early June 2017 we did California & the Golden West, our first tour with Riviera. The convivial Jayne was our tour guide, and Clifden our driver. They worked well together, and between them everything was managed, and we were well looked after. Jayne quickly builds up a rapport with everybody, even though the tour was quite full; she knows who everyone is.

They were a good 'fun' group, and the tour was amazing, covering not only 4 National Parks, but glitzy Vegas for a spot of gaming in the desert! and the main Californian towns (LA, San D, San Fran).

The highlight for me was the Navajo jeep tour through the geological features in the Monument Valley, often featured in the old westerns, but the optional helicopter flight over the Grand Canyon, was also fantastic!

The distances between places of interest were all well-driven by Clifden, and Jayne's lilting narrative always interesting and appropriate., with some musical surprises!

There were regular comfort stops, and cooled bottles of mineral water always available, at a small fee. Many thanks.

Review by: Joyce on 31/05/2017

California & the Golden West Tour

Having now had a week to recover from our holiday touring California and the Golden West I have decided to let you know what a wonderful experience this holiday provided.

The highlights were the helicopter flight over the Grand Canyon along with San Diego and San Francisco.

Special mention must be made to Jayne our Tour Manager and Clifton our driver. Jayne was superb - she managed a full bus of 49 passengers and with great humour managed to get everybody to keep up with the pace required to see all the magnificent sights on the packed itinerary. Jayne was a credit to your company and elevated our tour from a holiday to the "holiday of a lifetime". Jayne was ably assisted by Clifton who's driving over the 2,768 miles was exemplary. He was calm, friendly and efficient and worked hard to ensure our cases were quickly available at each hotel.

By the end of the tour I had run out of superlatives to describe all the wonderful scenery.

The one small exception was the Holywood Boulevard - way past its best sell-by date.

If we decide on another tour then you can be sure that Riviera will be our first port of call.

Review by: Peter & Laura Dummett on 31/05/2017

California & the Golden West Tour

My Wife and I have just had the most amazing holiday on the California & the Golden West Tour. It was our holiday of a lifetime and it did not disappoint, truly spectacular National Parks and fabulous cities. Special thanks must go to our Tour Manager Jayne and our fantastic driver Clifton , they were totally professional Jayne's fountain of knowledge was endless . Each day saw us see more unbelievable sights The Grand Canyon , Monument Valley ,Zion Valley Yosemite and more , Las Vegas ,San Diego. A totally never to be forgotten holiday ,made the better with a lovely coach party of people . Thank you Riviera .

Review by: Joan and Terry McCue on 31/05/2017

California & the Golden West Tour

Just returned from the California and Golden West Tour which was fantastic from start to finish. Initially we must mention our tour guide Jayne Dunnett and driver Clifton Lowery, both wonderful professional and careing in looking after us so well. We visited some of the most amazing places in our 2 week, 2670 miles journey. A particular highlight was the vist to Monument Valley, Utah amongst the Navajo indians, truly awe inspiring. All the National Parks are fabulous and an absolute must to visit. Finally a memory that will linger with us both is crossing the 'Bay Bridge' whilst listening to Tony Bennett singing 'I left my Heart In San Fransciso' playing in the coach....unforgettable

Review by: Kath and Kenny Taylor on 31/05/2017

California & the Golden West Tour

This was our eighth tour with Riviera and the first outside Europe, As expected it lived up to expectations. The organization was smooth and efficient. Our tour guide was always clear on his expectations and provided excellent support in a cheerful and considerate manner. Likewise, the coach was exceptional and the driver most friendly and helpful. Luggage was managed without a hitch. The hotels were always very comfortable and well prepared and welcoming. As usual with Riviera, there were plenty of side trips and activities to choose from and ample free time to enjoy activities on our own. In my opinion, the value on this tour - taking in LA, San Diego, Grand Canyon, Monument Valley, Bryce Canyon, Zion Park, Las Vegas and San Francisco is exceptionally good. It is difficult to imagine trying to organize such a tour oneself and I would recommend it to anyone.

Review by: Malcolm Smith on 07/05/2017

California & the Golden West Tour

I am just writing tell you how much we enjoyed our fortnight in the U.S a few weeks ago (5/4/17 --19/4/17). All our best holidays have been with Riviera i.e Sorento , Paris , the Rhine river cruise,and now California which i think was our best holiday yet. The tour guide Chris was excellent ,a walking breathing encyclopedia of knowledge about the U.S. who was easy to understand. Its annoying when you have a guide with a foreign accent who is difficult to understand!

Along with an brilliant coach driver called Clifton, it made for a holiday we will never forget.

Review by: Mr Richard Marriott on 05/04/2017

California & the Golden West Tour

We have been back from our California and the Golden West tour for a week now. We had a fabulous time, and must say that the trip exceeded all expectations, which were actually very high in the first place. Chris is a very knowledgeable and informative tour manager and helped us get the very most from the holiday. We commend his efficiency, kindness and the considerable effort he put in to making our tour a memorable one. Our coach driver, Clifton was also excellent. This has been our sixth Riviera holiday and it will not be long before we book our next one.

Review by: Trevor and Tessa Longley on 05/04/2017

California & the Golden West Tour

We have recently returned from your holiday to California and the Golden West and are moved to tell you how amazing it was. Not only was the weather wonderful for the whole trip, for which we presume you were not responsible, but much of its success was due to your leader Denise.

Throughout the tour she was a fountain of knowledge and information about all the areas through which we travelled, and her good humour, patience and personality at all times helped us appreciate the history and geography of that part of the USA and created a positive and friendly atmosphere in the group. She compares with the very best leaders of any similar trip we have undertaken. Thank you very much for the experience.

Review by: Arthur and Angela Hosken on 22/03/2017

California and Golden West Tour

As one of the passengers on the above tour, I would just like to say how much I enjoyed the trip. In particular, I would like to say how excellent our guide, Jayne was, and indeed our driver Myoshi. They were always cheerful and helpful and went the extra mile (literally) to give us all a good time.

I gather you are one of the few companies that take their tours into Utah, and I would like to say the extra mileage across two deserts to accomplish this was well worth it. The Grand, Bryce, Zion canyons and Monument Valley were all spectacular and definitely the highlights of the trip. If I have one criticism, it is that we didn't get enough time to wander along the edge of the Grand Canyon - utterly breathtaking and so worthy of being one of the wonders of the world. Another hour would have been appreciated!

Thank you for organising such an inspirational tour, all 2445 miles of it!

Review by: Linda Lowe on 26/10/2016

California & the Golden West Tour

I have just had a great holiday in West Coast America celebrating my cousin's special birthday.

The scenery was breath-taking. The splendour of the Grand Canyon, Yosemite National Park, and Monument Valley, to name a few sites, could not be captured on camera, you had to be there to appreciate and marvel at it.

We also made stops at smaller towns and villages which gave us a real feel for the diversity of both people and landscapes in the West Coast.

Los Angeles was not as glamorous as expected, but still worth the visit, and was definitely compensated for by the visit to San Diego. Las Vegas was, well, Las Vegas!

Our driver, Clifton, was excellent, I don't think we could have got a better one. With some tricky weather conditions, sharp switch-backs on the mountains, and long distances to contend with, I felt 100% safe knowing how assured and competent he was as a driver. He also had a warm sense of humour and fun, which made us smile and made our travels more pleasurable.

Benita, our tour guide, was also very knowledgeable and gave us historical contexts to the different places we visited, and useful insights on how to get around and where to find food for our meals. Her experience was invaluable.

All the accommodation was of a good standard, especially where coffee machines, microwaves and breakfast were included.

My only recommendations are for travellers to be warned that the canyons are high up and very cold so packing warm clothes is a must, that an additional stop at Venice Beach or a more glamorous side of Los Angeles would have been appreciated, and that the Monument Valley Tour should be included in the overall price.

Other than that, it was a wonderful experience, which I would recommend to others. I look forward to travelling with Riviera Tours again!

Review by: Verena on 16/11/2016

California & the Golden West Tour

I have just had a great holiday in West Coast America celebrating my cousin's special birthday.

The scenery was breath-taking. The splendour of the Grand Canyon, Yosemite National Park, and Monument Valley, to name a few sites, could not be captured on camera, you had to be there to appreciate and marvel at it.

We also made stops at smaller towns and villages which gave us a real feel for the diversity of both people and landscapes in the West Coast.

Los Angeles was not as glamorous as expected, but still worth the visit, and was definitely compensated for by the visit to San Diego. Las Vegas was, well, Las Vegas!

Our driver, Clifton, was excellent, I don't think we could have got a better one. With some tricky weather conditions, sharp switch-backs on the mountains, and long distances to contend with, I felt 100% safe knowing how assured and competent he was as a driver. He also had a warm sense of humour and fun, which made us smile and made our travels more pleasurable.

Benita, our tour guide, was also very knowledgeable and gave us historical contexts to the different places we visited, and useful insights on how to get around and where to find food for our meals. Her experience was invaluable.

All the accommodation was of a good standard, especially where coffee machines, microwaves and breakfast were included.

My only recommendations are for travellers to be warned that the canyons are high up and very cold so packing warm clothes is a must, that an additional stop at Venice Beach or a more glamorous side of Los Angeles would have been appreciated, and that the Monument Valley Tour should be included in the overall price.

Other than that, it was a wonderful experience, which I would recommend to others. I look forward to travelling with Riviera Tours again!

Review by: Verena on 16/11/2016

California & the Golden West Tour

I am writing to you a letter of thank you for the brilliant tour guide we had on this trip, Jayne. I Have been travelling for years and years and never ever have I come across a leader with such: professional skills, her lovely personality, experienced, organized. What struck me most is her enthusiasm. She had every single detail covered and had each and every one of us excited about the next attraction. I have learned a lot from her and shall never forget this trip. Memorable.

Review by: Mrs S E Pretorius-Warren on 26/10/2016

California & The Golden West Tour

Hi I have just returned from your tour of California & the Golden West.

This is just to let you know that it was absolutely as described (fantastic)

Our courier MARCUS PHILPOT was very helpful over the two weeks he was with us nothing was any trouble for him he had done his homework well any questions that our party asked were answered right away. His knowledge of the USA was second to none.

He made our holiday very enjoyable.

May I say Olso our driver Clifford was a magician at getting us where we had to go the bends on some of the roads were hair raising.

Once again thanks for a memorable holiday

Review by: John and Lilias on 07/06/2016

California & The Golden West Tour

Just to let you know that we returned yesterday from our California and the Golden West tour having had a fantastic time.

A special vote of thanks to our guide, Marcus Philpott. He was extremely helpful and added enormously to the pleasure we were able to derive from the tour. He had clearly prepared well for the trip and did his utmost to ensure that it was a success.

Review by: Patrick Fields on 07/06/2016

California & The Golden West Tour

We have just returned from your Golden West tour to California, Arizona, Utah and Nevada.

It was brilliant. Tour guide Marcus was excellent and driver Clifton was fantastic, so no problems there.

On the trip to Hollywood, we didn’t get to see any of the studios which was a shame and perhaps could be included in future tours but well done, a great holiday.

Review by: Tony Lazarus on 07/06/2016

California & The Golden West Tour

Just returned from California and the Golden West Tour. We have had a wonderful time. This was due to excellent itinerary and the selection of hotels which were near the sights. The enjoyment was increased even more by the tour guide Marcus he was well prepared gave us plenty of information.

Extremely helpful went out of his way to make sure people could all the things they wanted. I am looking for another Riviera holiday after this one

Review by: Irene Ingham on 07/06/2016

California & The Golden West Tour

Just found time to mention our tour guide Marcus on the California & Golden West Holiday who was excellent and his knowledge and cheerfulness second to none. He needed this with our party of reprobates! Clifton the coach driver showed outstanding skills also. The tour although tiring with early starts was well worth the effort as we saw some wonderful sites with the National Parks my favourite.

Review by: Martyn Lavender on 08/06/2016

California & The Golden West Tour

Fantastic holiday all the way through from the rep Chris, driver Clifton and all the other travellers. Helicopter over Grand Canyon only one of the highlights along with Karaoke which was an absolute hoot. Information given by Chris very informative lot of travelling but to see all the sights and places needed to be done. To all we travelled with thank you for making the holiday that little bit extra special

Review by: Diane on 02/07/2016

California & The Golden West Tour

We have recently returned from our holiday in the Golden West. We are gradually recovering from both jet-lag and the full-on 2,500 miles of road travel, but all of this is totally worth it!

We would like to pass on our thanks to Richard who guided us expertly from place to place. He is an excellent guide- knowledgeable, patient, with a wry humour and tip-top organisational skills.

We would highly recommend Richard, this tour, and your company.

Thank you,

Review by: Helen Hartnell on 01/11/2016

California & The Golden West Tour

We have had a holiday of a lifetime thanks to our tour guide Richard and Larry the driver.

Richard is a credit to your company, truly extremely professional, very thorough. He gave us all such a vast amount of knowledge with a great sense of humour and made everyone feel special.

Larry gave us the safest, smoothest punctual journeys and worked so well with Richard.

We would recommend Riviera Travel, especially if all of your staff are as good as them,

Thanks again for a wonderful holiday

Review by: Rob Taylor on 19/09/2016

California & The Golden West Tour

We had a wonderful holiday on the California and the Golden West tour. Our super tour manager Patricia was really excellent.Her vast knowledge of the area was truly impressive, and made the tour all the more interesting and enjoyable. Please convey our grateful thanks to her.

Another great holiday with Riviera!

Review by: David & Ruth Howell on 07/10/2016

California & The Golden West Tour

We had a wonderful holiday on this tour and our enjoyment was largely down to the excellent itinerary and our very competent guide and driver. Denise was well informed, always cheerful, and ensured that we always knew exactly where to go and what to do. She is clearly a very experienced and enthusiastic tour guide.

Our driver, James, was also excellent, competent and calm even when the road conditions were challenging.

All our hotels were of a good standard and added to our comfort and enjoyment.

All in all we have had a great holiday, lots of terrific memories to last a lifetime, so thank you very much.

Review by: Pauline and Michael Fielding on 21/10/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.