If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

California & the Golden West Tour

We had a wonderful holiday on this tour and our enjoyment was largely down to the excellent itinerary and our very competent guide and driver.  Denise was well informed, always cheerful, and ensured that we always knew exactly where to go and what to do.  She is clearly a very experienced and enthusiastic tour guide.
Our driver, James, was also excellent, competent and calm even when the road conditions were challenging.
All our hotels were of a good standard and added to our comfort and enjoyment.
All in all we have had a great holiday, lots of terrific memories to last a lifetime, so thank you very much.

Review by Pauline and Michael Fielding on 21 October 2016

We had a wonderful holiday on the California and the Golden West tour. Our super tour manager Patricia was really excellent.Her vast knowledge of the area was truly impressive, and made the tour all the more interesting and enjoyable. Please convey our grateful thanks to her.
Another great holiday with Riviera!

Review by David & Ruth Howell. on 7 October 2016

We have had a holiday of a lifetime thanks to our tour guide Richard and Larry the driver.
Richard is a credit to your company, truly extremely professional, very thorough. He gave us all such a vast amount of knowledge with a great sense of humour and made everyone feel special.
Larry gave us the safest, smoothest punctual journeys and worked so well with Richard.
We would recommend Riviera Travel, especially if all of your staff are as good as them,
Thanks again for a wonderful holiday

Review by Rob Taylor on 19 September 2016

We have recently returned from our holiday in the Golden West. We are gradually recovering from both jet-lag and the full-on 2,500 miles of road travel, but all of this is totally worth it!

We would like to pass on our thanks to Richard who guided us expertly from place to place. He is an excellent guide- knowledgeable, patient, with a wry humour and tip-top organisational skills.

We would highly recommend Richard, this tour, and your company.

Thank you,

Review by Helen Hartnell on 25 August 2016

Fantastic holiday all the way through from the rep Chris, driver Clifton and all the other travellers.  Helicopter over Grand Canyon only one of the highlights along with Karaoke which was an absolute hoot.  Information given by Chris very informative lot of travelling but to see all the sights and places needed to be done.  To all we travelled with thank you for making the holiday that little bit extra special

Review by Diane on 2 July 2016

Just found time to mention our tour guide Marcus on the California & Golden West Holiday who was excellent and his knowledge and cheerfulness second to none. He needed this with our party of reprobates! Clifton the coach driver showed outstanding skills also. The tour although tiring with early starts was well worth the effort as we saw some wonderful sites with the National Parks my favourite.

Review by Martyn Lavender on 8 June 2016

Just returned from California and the Golden West Tour. We have had a wonderful time. This was due to excellent itinerary and the selection of hotels which were near the sights. The enjoyment was increased even more by the tour guide Marcus he was well prepared gave us plenty of information.
Extremely helpful went out of his way to make sure people could all the things they wanted. I am looking for another Riviera holiday after this one

Review by Irene Ingham on 7 June 2016

We have just returned from your Golden West tour to California, Arizona, Utah and Nevada.

It was brilliant.  Tour guide Marcus was excellent and driver Clifton was fantastic, so no problems there.
On the trip to Hollywood, we didn’t get to see any of the studios which was a shame and perhaps could be included in future tours but well done, a great holiday.

Review by Tony Lazarus on 7 June 2016

Just to let you know that we returned yesterday from our California and the Golden West tour having had a fantastic time.
A special vote of thanks to our guide, Marcus Philpott. He was extremely helpful and added enormously to the pleasure we were able to derive from the tour. He had clearly prepared well for the trip and did his utmost to ensure that it was a success.

Review by Patrick Fields on 7 June 2016

Hi I have just returned from your tour of California & the Golden West.
This is just to let you know that it was absolutely as described (fantastic)
Our courier MARCUS PHILPOT was very helpful over the two weeks he was with us nothing was any trouble for him he had done his homework well any questions that our party asked were answered right away. His knowledge of the USA was second to none.
He made our holiday very enjoyable.
May I say Olso our driver Clifford was a magician at getting us where we had to go the bends on some of the roads were hair raising.
Once again thanks for a memorable holiday

Review by John and Lilias on 7 June 2016

Just returned from a wonderful two week tour with excellent tour guide, Marcus, and super-driver, Clifton.
A brilliant holiday despite some early mornings and long days in the coach.  We saw so many amazing places, the weather couldn’t have been better and we feel we have seen some of the world’s most incredible sights.
Thank you, Riviera, Marcus and Clifton!

Review by Keith and Maggie Puttick on 2 June 2016

We have just returned from our 5th Riviera Tour. California and the Golden West - What can we say - another thoroughly well organised, action packed tour. Every day was a contrast, from 92 degrees one day to snow the next. From the Pacific Ocean to the desert, from the canyons to San Francisco the list goes on. Great thanks to our tour guide Linda and driver Alan. The work behind the scenes to make a tour like this so enjoyable is unimaginable. Just one question = Which Riviera tour next?

Review by Martin and Penny Jones on 13 May 2016

Having previously tried several trips in Europe with Riviera all of which were excellent we decided to experience a trip much farther afield, and what an experience.
Linda our tour manager and Alan our driver both went the extra mile (excuse the pun) in order that the needs of the group were catered for. Her knowledge of each area we visited was extensive and always interesting and humorous.
The overall balance of vast expanses, scenic gorges and spectacular cities was in our view perfect. We recommend doing all the extra trips you can because all were excellent. We would also highly recommend a trip to Alcatraz which isn’t on the itinerary and needs to be booked online before you go as they are always very busy and make sure you do it on the free day.


Review by Liz and Ralph Simpson on 12 May 2016

Our first trip to the States, and it was wonderful! Richard was a star, with his patience, humour and knowledge. We would go again if there were a 3 week version, whereby we could spend more time in the places we visited.

Review by Janet pouso on 26 January 2016

Just back from a fabulous tour of the West Coast of America. The destinations included were marvellous with comfortable accommodation. The tour itself was exceptionally well organised with a very knowledgeable tour manager and friendly driver making sure everything ran smoothly. First time we’ve used Riviera and would recommend it to anyone. Thank you for making our holiday memorable.
Travelled on 14/08/2012

Review by Mrs Crawford, Edinburgh on 2 September 2012

Our guide was superb in her thoughtfulness and care on our recent tour of the West USA states. It was an excellent trip, with all the best of what the four states - Arizona, Utah, California and Nevada had to offer in the time, with good quality hotels. Couldn’t recommend it highly enough.
Travelled on 24/07/2012

Review by Heather Stephens, Ireland on 15 August 2012

This was our first ever trip to The States, from the moment we landed, we were in good hands. Our tour manager was the perfect travelling companion, just like taking your big sister on holiday. Together with the coach driver, we never had a moments worry. There were long bouts of road travel in between the sights and the overnight hotel stops. This could have been boring, but our tour manager kept us all entertained, always well informed, with a ready wit and prepared for any eventuality. The sights are spectacular. We ran out of superlatives just trying to keep up with their grandeur. In one day, we flew in a helicopter over The Grand Canyon, and in the afternoon drove through Monument Valley in a dust storm. You can shoot me now; that was the greatest day of my life!  The trips aren’t expensive. My advice is to just save up and GO! It’s the two weeks trip of a lifetime and there’s no where on Earth like it… Quite wonderful!
Travelled on 21/05/2012

Review by Mr Townend, West Yorkshire on 17 June 2012

We have recently returned from an excellent holiday in California and the Golden West. It was all we had hoped for with amazing destinations and hidden surprises. The Tour Manager and our driver enriched the whole experience for us. Would recommend this holiday to anyone.
Travelled on 01/05/2012

Review by Mr & Mrs David Howe, South Yorkshire. on 31 May 2012

We arrived home yesterday from the Califorina & Golden West Holiday, what can we say…  “A truly overwhelming experence! A holiday of a life time! It was Fantastic!”. Everything was Perfect, don’t think we would ever again go on a two week holiday sitting by the pool, relaxing, doing very little when you can go on a trip like the one we just finished. We must mention our tour guide, she was just fantastic and a fountain of knowledge of all the places we visited and of course our driver, what a man he could drive that big bus anywhere and his personallity was outstanding. It Really was a Holiday of a Life Time. Thank you all in Rivera Travel for making out trip so so Special.
Travelled on 10/04/2012

Review by Mr & Mrs Kevin Morrison, Cobh, Ireland. on 25 April 2012

We enjoyed our Paris trip in July so much that it gave us the confidence to book this touring holiday to the West coast of America with Riviera Travel. Everything was well organised and we had another wonderful, stress free holiday with Riviera Travel. Many thanks to our tour guide and coach driver, they were indispensable making this guided tour holiday a great success. We are planning our next holiday with the company again in the new year.
Travelled on 14/11/2011

Review by Mr & Mrs Chung, Norwich on 11 December 2011

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.