[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

Just to say "thank you" for the great holiday my partner and I have just had on MS Lord Byron. The ship, staff and everything connected with the cruise were fantastic. The on shore tours were a delight, lovely venues and excellent tour guides.

Thank you again.

Review by: Mr J A Thompson on 11/04/2019

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

My niece and I had a fabulous time on this cruise, admit journey by Eurostar and TVR was at times arduous due to transporting luggage to coaches in Paris but enjoyed TVR once on it, very comfortable seating ect. Cruise was great, cabin was spacious with lovely walk in shower. Cleanliness very good in all parts of ship, the crew work so hard. Food was excellent and varied, tours were well organised but as some groups were rather slow we went off on our own with a map which suited us as I have a hearing loss and couldn’t really understand the commentary all the time. We met some lovely very interesting people on the cruise, weather was fantastic, scenery absolutely gorgeous, plenty of good food, drink and laughter, everything I could have wished for, highly recommend. Have already booked a solo cruise next November on the Danube, knowing the weather will obviously not be as it was but everything else I hope, will be.

Review by: Dee and Ruth on 13/09/2018

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

The trip started via Eurostar, which was an interesting and hassle free way to travel. Traveling with a friend we both found the cruise relaxing and very enjoyable.

The restaurant/bar crew proved to be efficient and polite at all times, and all with a great sense of humour, even with the difference in language.

The food was excellent, with plenty of choice at all meals.There is a drinks package which I feel is a bit pricey, but if you do not drink much then buying wine by the glass is an affordable option. Bar prices were reasonable too.

There is no high powered entertainment like you get on the big cruise ships, but I prefer that. We had a fun music quiz one night and there is a resident musician, but he was not particularly good. The taped music in bar was better.

On the sun deck there are shades that are put up when there are not bridges to be negotiated, then the crew take them down. If it is hot then it can get very hot on the sun deck without them, but there are other places to sit if you need the shade.

There is the Lido bar which is small and serves an Early Bird Lunch which is much lighter than what is available in the main restaurant and you can obtain coffee/tea 24/7 from there also.

The mix of city walking tours and coach trips, was well balanced with time to yourself if you want it. The excursions were extremely interesting and the Ardeche Gorge was amazing to see, as was the Pont du Gard. The guides were excellent and founts of knowledge especially the lady in Beaune, she knew so much about the wines it was very educational.

The service standards throughout the ship were very high. I can totally recommend this cruise, but pick your time, I think by the end of Sep into Oct the weather might not be so sunny all the time as it was for us.

Disembarkation was very easy although the train trip back to London was fairly long

Review by: Jenny Wiseman on 23/08/2018

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

never been on a river cruise before and i can say i thoroughly enjoyed my week on the lord byron, very clean and comfortable, good sized bedroom, lovely food, and the staff were very friendly, especially tim the entertainments manager he was a joy to spend time with.

Review by: mrs j watson on 31/05/2018

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

Returned 26/07/18 from a lovely Fench river cruise on The Rhone on the Lord Byron,beautiful boat .Service was outstanding ,food a la carte plenty of choice ,buffet breakfast freshly cooked egg ,done to order.Always other choices to order.Cabins not huge but well kitted out and kept clean ,excellent air conditioning Scenery not wonderful along Rhone but prettier along Soane But visits to villages and towns,with guides more than made up for this,all included.Riviera staff Kamir and Sheena on board great people.Very hot when we were there,but nothing is rushed Will definitely book again plan Douro River next year

Review by: Kathrin Sweeney on 19/07/2018

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

My wife and I have just returned from the 'Burgundy, the River Rhone & Provence River Cruise' and we enjoyed it greatly. The Swiss Corona was immaculate, the food excellent and crew very friendly, efficient, smart and looked professional at all times. All the excursions were very good with the Ardeche Gorges visit our favourite. The Riviera Reps, Angus and Karim, were excellent.

Review by: DAVID WALMSLEY on 28/05/2018

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

Excellent trip on the Swiss Corona, Riveria Staff Glenda and Ros were great, knowledgable and fun. The Staff and crew couldn't be more helpful. Can't for next years trip on the Danube.

Review by: Brenda Cottrell on 14/05/2018

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

Despite awful weather for the Ardeche Gorge day the cruise was a great success. Arrangements faultless and the crew exemplary. When one of our party tripped and hurt her ankle at Arles the reaction was immediate, and highly efficient as well as very kind and professional. The care and atmosphere on board were amazing. As for the food.. wonderful. Thank you to all concerned.

Should also mention the very good standard of the guides who showed us round, and the specially good day at Beaune. Highly recpommended.

Review by: William Mahon on 10/05/2018

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

My wife and I would like to commend all aspects of this river cruise:

The cruise managers were very efficient and helpful in every way.

The whole of the ship's crew were extremely pleasant and helpful

The food standard was of the highest order - excellent quality, variety and inventiveness together with immaculate presentation. Could not be faulted

The itinery was excellent and efficiently run despite the change of plan because of high water levels resulting in bus travel to Beaune instead of by ship.

I can certainly recommend this to others.

Review by: Gordon Lindsay on 05/04/2018

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

This was my first river cruise and so I set sail with an open mind. I was also the only person travelling alone. I was careful not to intrude on fellow passengers but I found people welcoming and friendly. The journey along the Rhone river was interesting and offered a view of the French countryside different from road based holidays. The cabin was clean and comfortable and and the staff and crew were efficient, attentive and friendly; and the food was excellent. The tour staff organised our holiday so that everything went according to plan and accepted our comments when things were quite as intended. Listening to other passengers about Riviera river cruises I shall certainly go on further trips.

Review by: FRANCIS VINCENT on 18/09/2017

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

I should have done this before but didn't get round to it due to being ill on the last day and having a nightmare experience at Lyons airport which resulted in us returning home 24 hours late. However, the first 6 days of the cruise from Avignon to Lyon were wonderful and we thoroughly enjoyed it until I got a viral infection on the last but one day, on the tour of Lyons. Unfortunately, this was Patrice's birthday, and the reason we chose this particular week. I was surprised at previous comments that birthdays were marked by the crew, as I had been told that Riviera did not do this, and indeed they did not, and obviously Patrice had to celebrate by himself at dinner, as I was too ill to accompany him. But the cabin was lovely, on the lower deck but plenty of room, and very clean. Food was excellent and hosts Tony and Alex were very helpful. We had already booked another cruise in August, which I have just reviewed, and would thoroughly recommend Riviera. I don't think we would ever choose another cruise company.

Review by: Diana and Patrice on 11/05/2017

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

My wife and I travelled on your Burgundy, the River Rhone & Provence River Cruise between 17th and 24th August 2017 on board MS Lord Byron. This was our first cruising holiday and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The ship was very good and we loved our cabin with lovely view through the floor to ceiling window - exactly what we were hoping for. This was topped with fabulous food, a good itinerary, well-planned & non-exhausting excursions and knowledgeable, enthusiastic guides on most excursions. But above all we were most impressed by the professional, pleasant, helpful crew of MS Lord Byron and with their excellent positive attitude which made our experience a truly memorable one!

Review by: Mr Sugata Nag on 17/08/2017

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

Well done Riviera Travel!. My 5th river cruise with you since 2013, and it fully lived up to expectations. Great, clean boat - super crew, and, of course, Tony and Viktoria, your representatives on board topped it off with seemingly effortless performance! Weather not bad either. Thank you again

John Bailey

Review by: John Bailey on 10/08/2017

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

We were a party of five, ranging in ages from 54 - 87 on this cruise, all of us seasoned travellers. We had an amazing holiday on the Swiss Corona. Everything about the holiday was first class... from the attentive and friendly service of the staff, to the quality of the food and day trips. The ship itself is exceptionally well maintained, spotlessly clean and in the art-deco style. The towns we visited were beautiful and the tour guides were knowledgable and friendly. Our older party members were able to join in on the day trips they could manage, or choose to sit at a nearby cafe or relax on-board when the walking was too challenging. We liked the fact that there was plenty of free time to wander the local markets and enjoy a coffee at the local cafes. A highlight of each day was the meals on board which were of excellent quality and plentiful - breakfast and lunch buffet style, with dinner served.

Information for those considering travelling by Eurostar - while Riviera reps did all they could to make this a smooth journey, we found it challenging with 3 seniors, 5 suitcases and a rapid TGV changeover. There is an option to fly or have your luggage sent in advance of your trip - we would consider these options next time.

THANK YOU RIVIERA AND THE STAFF OF SWISS CORONA for a truly memorable vacation. We hope to see you again soon!

Review by: Vic and Kelly Borg on 07/08/2017

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

Thoroughly enjoyed my third river cruise with Riviera. My high expectations were fully met with extremely comfortable beds, very friendly, professional staff and fantastic food! Yet again, the quality of local tour guides was top notch, particularly Emmanuel on the Avignon tour, whose impromtu rendition of a requiem in the chapel of the Pope's Palace, in order to demonstrate the acoustics, was spine tingling. Judging by the applause he received, I was not alone. Now deciding where to go next year.

Review by: Linda McDermott on 03/08/2017

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

Our first experience with Riviera and definitely not last. Next trip already booked within days of return! Swiss Corona & it's crew were faultless - hard working, professional & friendly throughout. Tour manager/directors Tim & Linda were excellent - welcoming, knowledgeable & helpful. My wife's birthday was kindly celebrated with complimentary bottle of bubbly plus signed card from crew & Riviera team - lovely surprise. And they baked us a cake! So relaxing as so well organised & managed from start to finish. Only minor disappointment was amount of free time at some stops but this was unavoidable which such a packed comprehensive itinerary. Excellent holiday; excellent value; excellent tour operator. No wonder so many returning customers - enough said!

Review by: Alan n Sue on 24/07/2017

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

Absolutely fantastic from start to finish! From the Captain (who entertained us on a couple of evenings) down to the superb crew, we could not fault anyone. The crew go the extra mile to ensure you have a good time, well done to you all. Many thanks to Tim and Lyndsey the Riviera guides who ensured all of our excursions ran like clockwork, what a team! The food was fantastic and don't know how they consistantly produced such wonderful meals throughout the cruise. Well done Riviera can't wait for the next cruise with you.

Review by: Bailey on 17/07/2017

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

This was the first time I had traveled on my own for 60 years so I was quite apprehensive. I need not have been. I took the Eurostar and TGV and there was Keith to make sure we did not miss the connections. On board the Swiss Corona everyone was most helpful and welcoming.

The servicing of the cabin was exemplary, the food was excellent and the excursions on shore well planned and interesting.

The weather was very hot everyday culminating in a wonderful storm and lightening over Lyons.

Just a little anxiety about our journey home but that was entirely due to traffic in Lyons, SNCF and Border Control at Lille all of which were nothing to do with Riviera, but Christine's calm presence sorted everything. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Review by: Anne Donaldson on 03/07/2017

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

I have recently returned from the river cruise on the Rhone river aboard the Lord Byron and would like to complement your company and all those involved on the booking, organising and of course on board the ship itself. I had a wonderful time and will definately be booking with you again. This is my second river cruise and i find them a really great way to see and experience the country I am travelling through. Thank you again and I will be in touch as soon as I've decided my next trip.

Review by: Sue Brunt on 15/06/2017

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

This was our first Riviera River Cruise and it will not be the last. From start to finish any request was granted - we had a number of taxi's arranged and one even waited while we shopped in the Valrhona shop in Tournon! Keith and Christine were brilliant and made everything run smoothly, along with every member of the crew.

See you next year!

Review by: Sarah and Michael on 03/07/2017

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

Have just returned from the Burgundy, Rhone and Provence River Cruise on the Swiss Corona. Had a fantastic time. Saw some beautiful sites, wonderful tours, excellent food, beautiful and spotless boat and lovely staff who did everything they could to make your holiday perfect. First river cruise and first time with Riviera Travel. Will definitely use them again.

Review by: Jan Tink on 10/07/2017

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

Just returned from our third river cruise with Riviera - this time on the Rhone through the south of France on the MS Swiss Corona. We had a wonderful holiday - the ship was beautifully designed, our cabin was a good size with excellent storage and kept spotlessly clean. The staff couldn't have been friendlier nor more helpful. Excursions were well planned with professional, friendly and informative local guides, and there was plenty of free time to relax both ashore and on board with the ability to do as much or as little as we liked. Food was of the usual very high standard and Riviera staff Tim and Keith worked hard to make sure we had everything we needed to make another highly enjoyable holiday. Well done Riviera!

Review by: Fiona White on 10/07/2017

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

This was our first river cruise experience and it totally exceeded our expectations. The Swiss Corona, the cabins and public areas were spotlessly clean. Our cabin small but functional with efficient air conditioning which was welcome as the weather was a bit too kind! (very hot). The crew very welcoming and friendly, absolutely first class service from all - a special mention for Ana, Mihai and Marketa who were simply fantastic. The tour Manager and Director were so upbeat and accommodating at all times and the tours were well thought out. The entertainment on board was just right too, not too much which we certainly appreciated. The food was lovely and the special dinners were a real treat. All in all a fantastic holiday and we will definitely travel with Riviera again.

Review by: Caroline Waite on 03/07/2017

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

Yet again Riviera have come up trumps with their holidays. A friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our recent river cruise. We couldn't fault anything. The Lord Byron and staff were exceptional, as were Tony and Shenna. I have been on many previous Riviera holidays, some more than once, and would highly recommend Riviera as an exceptional tour company. I can't wait to sample another river cruise. Thanks to all at Riviera and the Lord Byron team.

Review by: Lynn Sides on 22/06/2017

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

A first river cruise for both of us and it far exceeded expectations.

We had a gruelling journey and agreed not to do that again .... until we arrived on board and were welcomed with a lovely fruit drink. From then on we relaxed and enjoyed a fabulous week on the Lord Byron. Everything was well done. Thank you to the crew, Lyndsey and Eric for making everything so good. Can't wait to go again!

Review by: June Lake on 20/04/2017

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

I have just completed my second river cruise on the Lord Byron. The first cruise in 2015 was to the Rhine and Moselle which we loved from start to finish. This time we were on the Burgundy, River Rhone and Provence cruise. Again, the whole experience was wonderful. The scenery, the visits, the ship and the crew all contributed to a first class holiday. There is nothing better than sitting on the sun deck and watching the world go by and then getting ready for an excellent dinner. We will definitely be cruising again.

Review by: Esther Reilly on 15/06/2017

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

We cruised the Rhine on MS Lord Byron last year and had a great week. So this year our expectations were very high and I'm delighted to say that we again had a great week.

The ship is lovely, Tony, Alex and all the crew were very friendly and helpful. My wife has a gluten free diet and another friend in our party is alium intolerant. They were both looked after very well, the chefs were great in providing a gluten free alternative and even got some gluten free biscuits for the Lido bar.

All the tours were well organised and the guides were excellent, knowledgeable and enthusiastic, none more so than Kim who took us wine tasting in Beaune.

Thanks for a great week.

Review by: Paul Davies on 11/05/2017

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

We returned last week from a wonderful River Rhone Cruise on the MS Swiss Corona. Lovely boat and very good food. The whole holiday was great until our last day when my husband was taken ill in Avignon and had to be taken by paramedics to hospital for checks. I had only been waiting at the hospital for a short while when Lyndsey, our cruise director, arrived and stayed with me for the next five hours until luckily my husband was discharged, after undergoing MRI scan and other checks. I cannot thank Lyndsey enough for her care. She went beyond my expectation of help. Also Barbara the Tour Manager. I therefore would like to express my husbands' and my appreciation to your company for a wonderful holiday and care when needed.

Review by: Mr & Mrs B Gulliver on 15/05/2017

Burgundy, the River Rhône & Provence River Cruise

This is the first time we have had a river cruise with you. We give you five stars. The ship was Swiss, very comfortable with great care given to detail. The cabins were a good size and very well appointed and the staff catered to our every whim. We felt that the itinerary was very appropriate for our age group. Lindsey and Barbara, our tour managers were excellent and made our holiday a great success. We will definitely travel with you again

Review by: Pamela Millington on 15/05/2017

Burgundy, The River Rhone & Provence River Cruise

Recent cruise on the Rhone/Saone - excellent in all respects. Good crew, good tour managers, nice vessel well run- “Swiss Corona”. We will be back.

Review by: Christopher Martin on 19/05/2016

Burgundy, The River Rhone & Provence River Cruise

On behalf of the four of us in our party, we would like to say that the cruise was really good. The cabin, the Riviera team of two, the food and all the cruise team were very helpful and professional - their evening show too, was very funny. The places we visited were so interesting and the weather helped too”. Look forward to next years brochure. Please send one.

Regards

Review by: Ann Phillips on 03/06/2016

Burgundy, The River Rhone & Provence River Cruise

I am very quick to criticise but have to admit defeat with the above holiday which my husband and I returned from yesterday. There was absolutely NOTHING that could have been improved upon. The ship was excellent in every way possible – the staff went beyond the bounds and as a result we are now committed Riviera travellers.

Thank you very much for giving us such a wonderful experience.

Regards,

Review by: Nigel and Gill Talbot on 03/06/2016

Burgundy, The River Rhone & Provence River Cruise

Could not fault our first river cruise. The ship and crew are faultless and our tour managers were very good. The food was amazing and we certainly would recommend a river cruise with Riviera anytime.

Review by: Cynthia Jones on 16/06/2016

Burgundy, The River Rhone & Provence River Cruise

We had a memorable cruise on the Rhone despite French train strikes and abnormal river levels that prevented our boat from passing under some bridges. Our managers Alex and Glenda proved to be unflappable and overcame issues with good sense and humour. The crew on MS Countess were very welcoming and provided prompt attention. The standard of food was exceptionally good. Overall an enjoyable experience and to be fully recommended.

Review by: Mr Rod Unwin on 31/10/2016

Burgundy, The River Rhone & Provence River Cruise

Our first River Cruise with Riviera.

We have nothing but praise for this cruise.

The ship was immaculate, the staff really friendly, the tours were very informative and the weather was really kind to us.

We will certainly consider another trip with you.

Review by: Jean and Mike Goffin on 29/06/2016

Burgundy, The River Rhone & Provence River Cruise

This was our first cruise experience, and it passed all expectations.

The ship, Swiss Corona, the entire crew, and service on board was excellent.

The cabin was small, but adequate and clean. The food was varied and of a high standard and we were served by some wonderful staff.

The itinerary was varied and the places we visited were interesting.The guides were very knowledgeable.

The Riviera reps Mario and Tim were efficient, and we were kept informed by daily bulletins and talks.

All the staff were efficient and nothing was too much trouble for them.

The ship was spotless with towels changed daily and bedding as required.

A special mention to the Hotel Manager who made sure the holiday ran as clockwork.

The only problem we had, was the holiday passed too quickly.

This is our third Riviera holiday, and I would not hesitate in recommending them to everyone.

Review by: Christine Whitworth on 12/07/2016

Burgundy, The River Rhone & Provence River Cruise

Having just returned from this cruise, we found nothing to find fault with everything was as it should be, the crew were extremely helpful and friendly, the Cruise Director and Cruise Manager were so dedicated with nothing too much trouble. I myself suffered from severe sciatica which got worse as the week went on and the Cruise Director arranged for me to have assistance at both Marseille and Stansted which was a great help to us both and made the journey so much easier. Thank you Riviera this will not be the last time we will be travelling with you!! Everything was perfect from the time we arrived until departure!!

Review by: Paul Foulger on 13/07/2016

Burgundy, The River Rhone & Provence River Cruise

Amazing trip I just wanted to stay on board and repeat the journey. All staff were friendly and the service first class. Thanks to Sarah and Linda for their organisation which didn’t make me feel too organised or controlled, truly a talented pair.

Review by: Liz Twin on 19/07/2016

Burgundy, The River Rhone & Provence River Cruise

Another amazing Riviera Travel holiday cruising down the beautiful river Rhone to Provence. ‘Swiss Corona’ was so comfortable and clean, the Crew outstanding in the care and attention we received from everyone of them, the Reps always on hand to answer any questions, the food was absolutely delicious, and the shore excursions were well organised. Thank You Riviera Travel! Can’t think of any better way to spend 8 days!

Review by: Sue Jones on 21/07/2016

Burgundy, The River Rhone & Provence River Cruise

This was our first river cruise and the first time with Riviera Travel - we are so impressed that we are now planning next years holiday.

Great crew and Riviera staff amazing.

Thanks

Review by: Elizabeth and Clive Twi on 31/10/2016

Burgundy, The River Rhone & Provence River Cruise

We would highly recommend this cruise, which takes in the Rhone and Saone rivers; both very scenic. The trips off the boat were all excellent and included the spectacular Pont du Gard and the Ardeches Gorges. Our tour began in Avignon and ended in Lyon. The MS Countess was very comfortable and the service of a high standard. Glenda and Mandy were our tour director/manager and they were well-organised, friendly and efficient. Having done the cruise on the Rhine last year, the Rhone was a much better choice for a truly great holiday experience.

Review by: Gillian and Philip Taylor on 30/07/2016

Burgundy, The River Rhone & Provence River Cruise

Just a note to say how much we enjoyed our Rhone cruise on the Swiss Corona ( 6th -13th June). Your Tour Manager Tim was truly excellent. His personality and zest were superb and his management of the problem with the SNCF strike and TGV delays was superb - a true professional. If you post a list of the cruises he is involved with next year we will try to go on all of them!!

All you need to do is to sort out SNCF and their chaotic non seat reservation arrangements and you will have achieved the Holy Grail of European travel!

Well done, we are fairly certain to be coming back next year.

Regards

Review by: John & Enid Ingrey on 25/08/2016

Burgundy, The River Rhone & Provence River Cruise

First but by no means our last River Cruise. Had the most interesting and relaxing week. The Swiss Corona crew were so lovely and the food delightful. Already looking to book another in 2017. Well done Riviera you did it again

Review by: Steve and Angela on 27/08/2016

Burgundy, The River Rhone & Provence River Cruise

This must have been our 13th or 14th trip with your company.

Once again we had a splendid time. The Swiss Corona was so well appointed and comfortable and the staff could not do enough for us.

Everything was perfect.

The two Riviera staff were excellent. We enjoyed the trips too.

A perfect blend of sightseeing and relaxing…even the weather was excellent!

Thank you very much.

Review by: Berenice Fudge on 02/09/2016

Burgundy, The River Rhone & Provence River Cruise

I have returned from having a second cruise with your company and have had a fantastic time. This year I was on the Ms Swiss Corona 20th June to the 27th of June. I have to say the captain and his crew and all the staff on board the ship were fantastic nothing was any bother for anyone. All the crew and staff were all very helpful and cheerful. Your tour lady’s Mandy and Barbara were fantastic with letting us know what was happening the next day or any delays occurring. With all the help and kindness of everybody on the ship made my holiday fantastic. After being on holiday with you two years running and having similar enjoyment I hope to have another cruise next year. All being well. Once again I would like to give a very big thank you to all the people on the ship and yourselves for the organising the trips that made my holiday fantastic.

Review by: Stephen Bolton on 02/09/2016

Burgundy, The River Rhone & Provence River Cruise

Cruise exceeded all expectations. 5 Stars to the staff and Food. Looking forward to our next cruise.

Review by: Peter Morris on 02/09/2016

Burgundy, The River Rhone & Provence River Cruise

Just returned from Rhone River Cruise (Lyon to Avignon) on Swiss Corona and want to say how much we enjoyed it. Riviera travel reps Linda and Sarah were excellent, managing a few unexpected challenges enroute with exceptional professionalism and seemingly unflappable. Have to say the whole experience of using Riviera Travel to take care of our holiday has been a pleasure, the reservations team deserve praise also. This was not our first River cruise with Riviera, and it certainly won’t be the last!

Thank you.

Review by: Pam & Peter Pickthorn on 02/09/2016

Burgundy, The River Rhone & Provence River Cruise

A superb cruise. The itinerary was well thought out and executed. MS Countess was comfortable with excellent food and crew. Tony, the Riviera Cruise Director was informative and entertaining and Ros (his side-kick!) did lots of running around to ensure everyone had a perfect cruise. So many wonderful memories of places visited from the amazing Pont du Gard to the feeling of walking into a Van Gogh painting in Arles and all in one week! Riviera really is the best way to travel. Many thanks

Review by: Judith Middlemiss on 05/09/2016

Burgundy, The River Rhone & Provence River Cruise

Our first experience of Riviera River Cruise. Absolutely fantastic. Crew on Swiss Corona could not do enough for us. Bar Staff in particular made everybody feel special.

Tours great, guides certainly knew the history of the Areas, Sheena & Linda were excellent, Sheena’s Quizzes entertained everybody! Sheena was a star on the trains coming home ‘humping’ luggage on and off the trains to help everyone. We are now trying to decide which will be our next cruise. Sadly it came to an end all too soon. THANKS to everybody concerned for a fantastic holiday.

Review by: Frank & Cath Miller on 08/09/2016

Burgundy, The River Rhone & Provence River Cruise

We rather stood out on our cruise as the youngest passengers and we took our children although at 21 & 17 not really quite children. We had a fantastic time, the crew were all lovely and helpful, the ship was beautiful and the food was fabulous. We thoroughly enjoyed the trips and the guides were excellent. It was the most relaxing and different holiday we have had and I can recommend it wholeheartedly. The only slight disappointment was the wine tasting, I was looking forward to that and thought it would be at a vineyard trying a lot of different wines, not three wines in a wine shop, however the free time on the trip gave us the opportunity to go to the wonderful Hôtel-Dieu which was fascinating.

Review by: Sarah Cammish on 31/10/2016

Burgundy, The River Rhone & Provence River Cruise

I couldn’t find anywhere on your site to write a review!! perhaps not looking in right place. Anyway can I just say we (2 couples who will celebrate 50th Anniversaries later this year) thoroughly enjoyed our cruise with Riviera Travel. We were accompanied by Mandy who made herself known to us on the Eurostar train. From that moment we were looked after all the way along. The staff on board The Countess were all very pleasant and friendly. The cabins were spotless - towels changed frequently and ample space for our belongings, including cases And the food, what can we say it was amazing and lots of it. Our invitation to join the Captain for drinks before dinner was a highlight - our friend celebrated her birthday during the week and the staff also recognised the reason for our trip. The coach trips were very interesting and informative, a little too much so at times but we saw some lovely architecture and views were magnificent but we have probably forgotten a lot of the dates etc.that were mentioned. Every minute was memorable up to and including our return trip this time it was Glenda who accompanied us on our homeward journey. Mandy and Glenda are both a credit to your company with nothing to much trouble - they are skillful at sorting out problems and nothing appears to ruffle them. All crew on board The Countess need a pat on the back. Lots of lovely memories -Thanks to everyone - it was not our first trip with Riviera and hopefully it won’t be the last - we are recommending your river cruise to anyone showing any interest

Review by: Judy Grummitt on 14/09/2016

Burgundy, The River Rhone & Provence River Cruise

This was our 4th and our friends 1st cruise with Riviera, they were very impressed with every aspect of this cruise as were we. We have come to expect the best from Riviera and they deliver every time. The crew of The Swiss Corona were the best we have had, the food beyond our expectations (the chateaubriand was to die for). The guides were all very good offering just enough information. Plenty of free time and cruising. Alex and Tim were great fun as well as very professional. Do be careful if travelling by train with how big your suitcase is, the transfer from train to train can be a bit fraught, not quite enough luggage space on either train. Five star+ holiday

Review by: Carole & Michael Stapley on 14/09/2016

Burgundy, The River Rhone & Provence River Cruise

My name is Patricia Hall and yesterday I returned from a cruise, ie Burgundy, the river Rhone and Provence on the MS Countess. Our Cruise Director was Lindsey and Eric was our Tour Manager. Lindsey and Eric were very efficient, helpful and friendly. A great help to people on their first cruising experience.

The food was very impressive, delicious of course, and as to the ship herself, she is a lovely lady and very comfortable. I was impressed with the hygiene and safety aspects of the voyage too.

The crew also played their part, together with the guides, in making this a splendid holiday experience and I hope to be able to cruise with your company again.

With best wishes to all at Riviera Travel,

Review by: Patricia Hall on 11/10/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.