If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

Bruges Tour

We have just returned from the Bruges tour which we thoroughly enjoyed.  Our guide, Pete, was extremely knowledgeable and helpful.  He gave us a brief 30 minute walk on the evening of arrival just to orientate us in the town, and was available throughout the break to assist with any questions.  We would recommend this tour to anyone wanting a short and interesting break.

Review by Peter and Sue Hawes on 23 October 2016

Just got home from Bruges after a wonderful four day stay. All of the arrangements went like clockwork and the tour guide (Sue) was brilliant.
Thoroughly enjoyed all of the excursions, but was particularly taken by the visit to Hill 62, which was so different to the clinical exhibits of the In Flanders Fields Museum in Ypres. This was our third holiday with Riviera Travel and we plan to book again next year. Many thanks to all Riviera Travel staff.

Review by John, Jackie, Paul and Lorraine Williams on 21 October 2016

Having never been on an organised tour before I wanted you to know how much we enjoyed the experience. The hotel was lovely and the organisation 5*. Chris the tour guide was helpful, approachable and a credit to your company. The coach driver Ivan went out of his way to ensure that everything ran smoothly.

The only disappointment was that we feel we did not have enough time in Ypes. To see the town and Flanders fields you need at least 6 hours. Thankyou again

Review by Pamela Welby on 14 October 2016

Recently returned from Bruges which was my first experience with RivieraTravel and have to say it was an amazing experience. Our tour guide Kay was wonderful. She looked after us extremely well. I will certainly have no hesitation travelling with you in the future.

Review by Brenda Clayton on 11 October 2016

Thank you for arranging the above trip. Although I was meeting a group of friends and did not take up the excursion/ activities provided I found Riviera Travel very efficient and pleasant to deal with.
The tour manager was also very good. I will certainly take advantage of your services in the future and recommend your company to friends and family. I was speaking to a couple of friends in my party who had been on trips arranged by you and they were fulsome in their praise.

Review by John Andrews on 21 September 2016

Having just returned from Bruges. It was for us, a fantastic holiday, in a place we had never visited before, and I am sure we will return.  We stayed at the Golden Tree Hotel, a clean and friendly family run hotel. The inclusive tours arranged on our behalf were really good. The visit to Ypres, Hill 62 and Tyne Cot were for us, one of the most informative and interesting tours. Please keep them a feature for any future trips. A special note of thanks to Sue, our courier on this holiday. She was just great. Her insider knowledge and informative commentary made this holiday even better. We will be back with Riviera soon.

Review by Mr & Mrs Stevens on 25 September 2016

My husband and I have just arrived back from our 3 day trip to Bruges. We had a lovely time, Bruges was such a quaint little place, so easy to find your way around. We stayed in the Martins Bruge Hotel which could not have been more central for everything. Lovely little bar and very good choice at breakfast, you could even squeeze your own oranges in the morning for breakfast. Our tour manager Pete was brilliant and extremely knowledgable and helpful. Would highly recommend this trip.

Review by Pam and Alan Lucas on 18 September 2016

We both would like to compliment your Company in connection with our recent holiday.  Viv, our tour guide, was always there with her helpful, friendly, caring and extremely knowledgeable self.  She is such an asset to your company.  The hotel was so well situated.  Very clean, comfy beds and good size room and helpful cheery staff.  Breakfast was superb with such an excellent choice and even freshly pressed orange juice.  We liked the daily chocolate left in our room each day - such a nice touch!

Only one criticism and that concerned our trip to Ypres. We feel Ypres, Hill 62 and Tyne Cot needed a full day.

With best wishes,

Review by Margot Simmonds and Derek Yardley on 9 September 2016

Just back from 3 night break with your company, very good Hotel, and very good staff to look after everybody. Keep up the good work.
Many thanks,

Review by Anne & Phil Bowers. on 2 September 2016

Have just returned last Saturday (25th of June 2016)  from a break in Bruges, FANTASTIC—is the main word I use (but there are many more), my wife has been on various holidays with you over the last years, I believe twelve in total and I have accompanied her on two. We would both like to praise your representative Viv for her incredible knowledge and charm , look after her as she made our holiday.
Yet again top marks to all that are involved in organising and arranging, keep up the good work (AS WE KNOW YOU WILL)

Review by Jane and David Phillips on 25 August 2016

Travelled with a group of friends (6) in total.  We all at stayed at the Martins Hotel which was a very good location for getting out and about.  Our guide Diane was very organised and extremely efficient when our train home was delayed due to a break down.  She was very calm and ensured that all the Riveria Group was taken care of.  We all really enjoyed our trip.  There is one thing I would like to make a suggestion about.  On the day you visit Ypres it should be given the full day leaving at 9.30am.  Unfortunately we were taken on a river trip first, which could have been incorporated along side the brewery day or the chocolate shop visit. 
It resulted in a limited and rushed day.
A little adjustment in the itinerary would make all the difference.

Review by Michele Warburton on 30 July 2016

Have just returned from our first organised trip with Riviera. It was a 4 day tour of Bruges. Absolutely brilliant. Our tour manager - Norman - was excellent. Extremely knowledgeable, helpful and patient. The hotel - Martin’s Brugge - was modern, well appointed and very central. The whole experience was far in excess of what we expected, so much so we’ve come home and booked another tour for next year.

Review by Reg and Julie Woda on 21 July 2016

An excellent tour which could be improved upon. Hotel Martin was excellent both in terms of accommodation as well as location. Travel arrangements via Euro Star were perfect. The Courier, Diane, was knowledgeable and helpful, her support at Lille when the return Eurostar train had a problem was immense and very much appreciated. Where I would improve on the tour would be to allocate a whole day to Ypres giving much more time to enjoy the Museum and the City AND IN PARTICULAR delay the return to Bruges until after 8pm so that we could have witnessed the Last Post at the Gate. We could have eaten in Ypres. Most people on the coach shared this view. The boat trip in Bruges was an optional extra which could be moved elsewhere in the itinerary, not least to the final day.

Review by Malcolm Whitt on 17 July 2016

Just returned from our first trip with Riviera Travel on a four day break to Bruges We stayed in Hotel Academie.  It was a great holiday from start to finish.  We met our guide Mark on board the train, he was excellent from getting off the train at Lille until our return on the 11th.  His knowledge of Bruges is unquestionable a very professional man who showed an interest in everyone in the party. He has a good sense of humour very amusing, friendly man.The trip was excellent Bruges is very interesting place to visit.  The hotel was good everything we wanted. We had a lovely trip but it really was made good by having Mark as our guide. We are off again in September so we hope the tour guide is as good as Mark. Thank you Riviera Travel

Review by June & Colin James on 12 June 2016

Really lovely few days although a little hectic and lots of walking. Would have really liked more time in Ypres…so much to see there. Chris our tour guide was fantastic…well knowledgable of the area and fun to be around on all the excursions. This is a our second trip with Rivera and are already looking to see where when would like to go next.
***** as always.

Review by John Norfield on 4 June 2016

A short note just to tell you how impressed I was with our visit to Bruges.
Everything went very smoothly thanks mainly to our wonderful tour rep Hannie.
She was very informative and friendly and I would certainly go on one of your tours again!
Thanks Again

Review by Richard Molloy on 3 June 2016

We have just returned from an excellently organised short break to Bruges.  We cannot praise our guide Chris enough.  She was very knowledgeable, patient, funny and also understanding of the physical abilities of individuals in the group.  The whole tour was well planned, we saw a lot of Brugge in little time.  Please pass on our thanks to Chris for doing such a wonderful job.  We certainly will travel with Riviera again.

Review by Chris Connor and Terry Mundin on 19 May 2016

Dear Riviera travel, we have just returned from your 3 day Bruges trip to the Martin ‘s hotel and would just like to say how well organised and well managed by our tour guide Dave. His knowledge was invaluable and his kind and friendly manner made this trip one to remember. We will defiantly be booking with you again. Kind regards

Review by The Heynes and The Laws on 19 May 2016

Three of my friends and I have recently returned from a short break to Bruges. What a superb choice, the Hotel Academie exceeded all expectations, all of the included tours were excellent especially the full day to Ypres. Paul, our tour guide was a really super host, he kept us entertained throughout, his knowledge of Bruges was brilliant. We would certainly recommend your tours to anyone considering a short break and would love to do another next year, possibly Krakow if it’s on your 2017 list of short breaks, I have always wanted to visit the concentration camps there.


Review by Janice Goodwin on 13 May 2016

Another great Riveria Tour having just returned from Bruges. Everything was excellent including Martins Hotel where the location is perfect. Our tour manager Dave was very knowledgeable and gave the information with some good humour at times. A great trip which I would recommend, now its on to the States in June again with Riviera!!

Review by Malcolm Hiscock on 12 May 2016

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.