If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

This was the first time that we have travelled with Riviera. We chose this trip as I had family In East Germany and wanted to know more of the history of this region. We were not disappointed. Mike our guide was superb. His knowledge of Berlin and Dresden was second to none. The accommodation and food was the best we have ever experienced on holiday. The only downside was we could have easily spent another day in Berlin. We will certainly use Riviera again.

Review by Judith Oakley on 23 October 2016

We have travelled several times before with Riviera and have always found the tours excellent.  This tour to Berlin and Dresden was excellent.
The hotel were very comfortable and in very good central positions.  The coach travels was very comfortable with excellent drivers.  The tour was made even better by our excellent guide Frank.  He was so informative and helpful and went out of his way to ensure that the large group was taken care of at all times.

Review by Angela Corbett on 21 October 2016

Wonderful tour to Berlin and Dresden our guide Richard was very good and went out of his way to make sure everything ran smoothly. Hotels the best and breakfasts amazing Only one disappointment wished Colditz visit was longer I was really looking forward to seeing the glider.
But as a whole a brilliant tour.
Thanking you

Review by Ann and Ken Worthy on 21 October 2016

My sister, niece and I have just returned from a most memorable trip to Dresden and Berlin and I would like to commend Riviera for it’s fantastic arrangements and quality accommodation throughout.  A real highlight of the trip was our Guide, Mike, who made every journey, walk and meeting such an informative and personal experience.  We learned so much and felt privileged to be part of a super group in fantastic cities, with Mike.

Thank you so much!

Pauline Homeshaw

Review by Pauline Homeshaw on 21 October 2016

I am writing to say how much my friend and I enjoyed this most interesting trip.  In particular, we would like to thank our guide, Keith, who was not only most generous in sharing his immense knowledge of the places visited and all things German, but who delivered his knowledge in such a memorably witty and often moving way.

This has so far been my third trip with Riviera, all of them a success, so please continue to send me your brochure!

Review by Althea Chapman on 11 October 2016

My wife and I have just returned from the above trip, and would like say how enjoyable the trip was. Frank( I do not know his surname) the courier was excellent , not only with all the historical information, which made the visits so much more interesting , but also with his courier duties which he performed above and beyond the call of duty.
He must be the jewel in the crown in your company.
Thank you .
As an observation may I suggest that another day in Berlin would make this tour perfect.

Review by Brian Webb on 11 October 2016

A very informative and enjoyable trip, hotels 1st class, our tour guide, Richard’s knowledge and attention to to detail excellent, making this holiday memorable

Review by Paul & Claudia McDonald on 20 October 2016

The holiday was superb with the correct amount of free time compared to the guided sightseeing.  Our Guide, Frank was fantastic. Extremely knowledgeable, kind, courteous and very friendly to us all.  We would recommend him as a guide any time.

Review by Mary Hayward and Pauline Daimond on 7 October 2016

Hi, just returned from our latest Riviera excursion, to Berlin and Dresden etc; and both my wife Carol, and I would like to say how much we appreciated, and enjoyed the holiday. Chris, the Tour guide, was excellent, as are all your guides in our experience. She was always available, very approachable, and helpful, with a good sense of humour. Her knowledge, and attention to detail was impressive. We are already looking to our next holiday with Riviera! Best wishes

Review by Alan and Carol Didymus on 27 September 2016

This was my second Riviera holiday- I travelled to Vietnam and Cambodia earlier this year- but it was a first for my husband. The tour was excellent. We had a fantastic tour manager in Keith, whose knowledge of the places visited was outstanding and whose patience and humour were endless. I have booked another Riviera holiday next year- travelling to Peru - and my husband and I are already studying the brochure for another European holiday.

Review by Denise Brereton on 3 October 2016

Our first Riviera holiday.  Thoroughly enjoyed it.  Richard, our tour manager, was excellent - good fun and clearly knew his job.  The hotels were really good.  The only down side was the awful Berlin airport.

Review by Mark & Moira Barnard on 2 October 2016

Another blockbuster from Riviera. Their tours are not for the faint-hearted. In five days from Belfast (only three for our Glasgow companions) we saw the sights of Berlin and Dresden, re-lived the Colditz story and marvelled at the craftsmanship and price of Meissen porcelain. We were expertly driven and Andy kept us bright-eyed and bushy-tailed with his unfailing cheerfulness, courtesy, assistance and information for our education and entertainment. I touched remnants of the Wall, walked through the Brandenburg Gate, strolled Unter den Linden and shared tracks with cyclists and joggers in the Tiergarten. At Colditz I had lunch in the IH hostel inside the castle. In the Saxon capital I cruised the Elbe and, sustained by sausages and beer, gazed at riverside castles and vineyards from on-board ship. I was welcomed at VW’s glassy factory and sat behind the wheel of a plush Phaeton. I felt the sun shining on Zwinger’s extensive garden and fountains and was benumbed by the volume of old masters in its galleries. Both hotels were very good. Berlin’s has a good pool and both offered sparkling wine on ice at breakfast. The worst part was rushing to catch the coach back to Tegel. Now I’m home again, looking at my brochures and photos, catching up on sleep and wondering, ‘Did it all really happen?’

Review by Gerry Bell on 27 September 2016

The tour exceeded all our expectations, was so well organised with the itinerary well researched. All aspects of the tour, hotels (exceptionally well chosen and situated) air & coach travel and at all times convenient stops for refreshment.
The best of all was the Tour Manager Frank who treated all guests in the most gracious manner, His history of all geographical areas covered, was given to us in just the right amount of depth, and so much added to the enjoyment. He even went to the trouble of taking all comers on a gastronomic tour when hitting both Dresden and Berlin. This added to the enjoyment as it obviated the need to search for acceptable eating places.
The first question to be asked when booking a further tour ‘is it being led by Frank’

Review by Mr & Mrs Alexander SCOTT on 26 September 2016

Highly recommended! We flew to Berlin from Birmingham and then had a two and a half hour transfer to Dresden, meaning that we arrived in time for our evening meal. The location of the Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe is brilliant, in the main square, next to the Cathedral.There are plenty of restaurants available locally, most reasonably priced. Rooms in the hotel are really good, we had one equipped for the less able, so it had a wet room for a bathroom. Comfortable beds and tea and coffee making equipment too! Breakfast was buffet, both hot and cold, no complaints there. Our tour manager Frank (who is brilliant by the way!) had met us at the hotel on arrival, and he took us on a 2 hour morning walking tour of the main sites of interest in Dresden. His knowledge of WW2, and Dresden`s part in it, made for enthralling listening, and to begin with quite emotional when we viewed a memorial in the Old Market place. In the afternoon we were free to do our own thing, and it was easy to revisit places with more time. Day 3, was an early start, visiting the Meissen factory, watching the production of the porcelain figures (interesting), and then to a disappointing Colditz. The POW castle looks more like a nice hotel, so it is hard to imagine the escapades of the prisoners, although our Yorkshireman guide Alex did his enthusiastic best to create the atmosphere. Because of the distance covered, it is a long day, so arrival in Berlin was also late. The Maritim Hotel is about 15 minutes walk from Potsdam Square, where the Sony Centre is the hub for loads of restaurants. Rooms in this hotel we thought were even better than Dresden, and there can be no complaints at all with the choice of hotels on this trip. Breakfast was a bit frantic the following day, as the hotel is huge, and at times the staff struggled to keep up. Frank took us on a coach ride for 3 hours around Berlin on day 4, enabling us to pick out places to revisit in the afternoon, and on the last day before airport departures.We left the hotel at 5.30 pm, so we had all of the last day to sight see.There is plenty to see, lots very thought provoking, even if you are not a history buff.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Frank is the best guide we have encountered, his depth of knowledge, and enthralling story telling second to none.

Review by Brian Ayres on 25 September 2016

I would like to say how much we enjoyed the Dresden-Berlin trip last week.We thought that Richard our tour manager was first class, nothing was too much trouble for him, he made the trip a success.
Great stuff.

Review by Danny and Wendy Byrne on 2 September 2016

I would like to say thanks to Riviera Travel for a wonderful tour to Berlin and Dresden. It was a wonderful tour with a nice overview of both cities with the inclusion of Colditz Castle and Meissen Porcelain. Janay was a really nice tour guide. I enjoyed it very much. I would definitely use them again. This was my first time booking with them and you will here from me again.

Review by Alexander Hogg on 25 August 2016

An excellent short holiday, Alexander was an excellent, efficient, and humorous guide. Both Maritim Hotels provided first class accommodation and service and were in ideal locations, The itinerary was well chosen with enough spare time for further exploration.

Review by Michael & Lesley Milsom on 16 July 2016

I cannot praise the tour guide Alan enough he was very informative helpful and kind and a very nice chap.
The trip was very enjoyable, I wish though we had more time in Berlin, as it has so much to see and do. I went on a river cruise to France earlier in the year and that was fantastic. The staff were excellent. With that level of customer care, Riviera will be the one I will look at in the future.

Review by Pauline Stock on 24 June 2016

I have just returned from another excellent Riviera tour, my 7th.  This time to Berlin and Dresden. 
The tour was well organised with a good balance of guided tours and free time; the hotels, first class. 
Our tour manager, Mike, is probably the best I’ve been with.  His knowledge of the area was excellent.  He was interesting and humorous to listen too.  Also very helpful and more than willing to make a suggestion or two for our free time; willing to go that extra mile.  All in all a very fulfilling experience. 
Many thanks and I look forward to booking me next trip with Riviera.

Review by Mrs Wendy Pearce on 16 June 2016

My Mother and I missed our flight to Berlin a few weeks ago to join your Dresden and Berlin tour. I stupidly left my passport at home !!!!It is my Mum’s 80th year and she has always wanted to go to Dresden so I was mortified by my mistake!!!
I rang the emergency number and an extremely kind, understanding and helpful lady called Caroline answered the phone. Caroline helped us book another flight for the following morning and arranged for us to be met at Berlin airport by another tour.
We were so grateful to her. It would have been a complicated and arduous journey,particularly for my Mother, to get from Berlin to Dresden. Meeting another tour to take us to our hotel was a Godsend!
Frank met us at our hotel and helped us make the most of our time left in Dresden. Frank continued to be a fantastic host with excellent knowledge of the area.
We will have no hesitation in considering your company for future holidays however, our next destination of choice is Bucharest and, unfortunately, isn’t somewhere you visit. Perhaps somewhere for your company to consider for the future?
I hope you will pass on our gratitude to Caroline and Frank and give them the recognition we believe they deserve.
Kind regards

Review by Michelle Vinall and Pauline Green on 13 June 2016

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.