[jstrc:staticheader]

Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

Just returned from this fabulous tour, made all the more enjoyable by our excellent guide, Frank, who was so knowledgeable and passionate about the history and culture of the country. We have been with other tour companies but this experience reaffirmed that Riviera stand out in terms of quality. The hotels we stayed in (both Maritim chain) were faultless and the quality of the breakfasts were exceptionally good. The itinerary was well thought-through and ran like clockwork. We would have probably skipped Colditz and had longer in either Dresden (a beautiful city on the river) or Berlin. The history you encounter on the this tour, especially visiting sites significant to WW2 and the more modern history of the Berlin Wall and seeing the redevelopment over the last 30 years is fascinating, moving and absorbing. We were very pleased with our choice of break and would recommend this to anyone looking for a memorable short holiday.

Review by: Julian Hallett on 21/08/2019

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

We have just returned from yet another excellent Riviera trip, the locations we visited we incredibly interesting & both hotels were excellent and well placed. The itinerary was well thought out with a good balance between group 'organised' time and private time. The icing on the cake was Frank our tour manager, he was incredibly knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the many places we visited. Hugely enjoyable and very moving at times.

Review by: Reg Sansbury on 10/07/2019

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

Two words "Frank. P".

A sincere and caring tour guide with a wealth of knowledge.

We were lucky to have him on our tour, and so are Riviera Travel!!!

Review by: Jan on 07/10/2018

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

My husband and I found our trip to Berlin and Dresden superb. Frank was an excellent Tour Manager with boundless knowledge of the subject, was kind and courteous. The hotels were central and of a high standard. This was our first trip with Riviera and I am thinking it will not be our last.

Review by: Loraine Young on 07/09/2018

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

We enjoyed this short break immensely. It provided a wonderful though all too brief overview of Berlin with its historic sites and superb restaurants, a visit to Colditz Castle which provided a reprise of the derring-do and ingenuity of the 1940's airmen, a fascinating visit to the Meissen factory and two days in Dresden, an unexpected jewel with fabulous buildings, fascinating museums and excellent restaurants. Alan was an enthusiastic, knowledgable and supportive tour guide. Highly recommended.

Review by: Charles & Lorna Singer on 20/07/2018

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

The weekend was absolutely brilliant and our guide, Richard Simms, worked very hard with great humour and care to keep us informed, interested and happy throughout the weekend.

Both of the Maritim hotels we stayed in were wonderful and very central to both Berlin and Dresden. It was very easy to walk around both cities as the roads are very flat and there is so much to see. This was only a taster of what we might like to return to for a longer holiday.

Review by: Susannah Farley-Green on 06/07/2018

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

This was a very enjoyable trip particularly because the Tour Manager Frank was extremely informative on all aspects of the tour and on German culture. It was clear that his many years of visiting Germany, before and after re-unification made him very knowledgeable about the country. and the people. I don't think that I could fault the arrangements of the tour in any way

Review by: Clive Pett on 18/04/2018

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

We have just returned from Dresden and Berlin. Everything was very well organised and the hotels were excellent. But much of the tour's success was down our guide, Alan. He is hugely knowledgeable and interesting and dealt with any requests or queries immediately. It was a good trip to two interesting cities, but Alan added extra depth to the holiday.

Review by: Pat Clark on 02/10/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

The was our first Riviera holiday and we were very impressed. The tour was well organised and well paced with plenty of free time to explore on our own. Our guide, Alan was very helpful and knowledgeable. The hotels were excellent and well located to explore both Dresden and Berlin. We highly recommend Riviera and have already booked our next holiday with them.

Review by: Dianne and Paul on 02/10/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

Our tour was all I hoped it would be with the exception of the Meissen trip which I felt was a little to long. Our tour guide was excellent and gave us just all the information needed and made the trip very interesting. We have now been on three riviera trips each time we were escorted by retired gentlemen and each of them were absolutely first class. Well done

Review by: David Austin on 25/09/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

This was my first Riviera Solo holiday and it exceeded all expectations. It WAS all solo travellers ; (I had been worried that a few couples might have sneaked on). Our guide, Richard, was professional, extremely informative and well organised. He made sure that everyone had company for dinner which can be an awkward time for solo travellers. I have no hesitation in recommending Riviera solo holidays and I shall certainly be booking more in the future.

Review by: Chrissie on 24/09/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

Pam and I have travelled with Riviera Travel for many years now and experienced many lovely places with them. This tour is not the longest by any means, but what it lacks in days away, it makes up for in opportunities. Dresden is a lovely city to visit and one where it is easy enough to walk everywhere without much effort - just watch out for the occasional cobblestones. There are tourist sites galore and plenty of wonderful restaurants to overindulge yourself in! The Meissen porcelain factory is charming and extremely interesting, with the possibility of a little retail therapy if your pockets are deep enough! And Colditz…well, what history this building has. Our tour round the castle was managed by Alex, as ex-British Gas employee, who loved working in Germany so much, he settled down there. Alex brought the history of the castle to life with his passion, expert knowledge and a wry, northern sense of humour! Finally, to Berlin and the capital. This is a vibrant, bustling city as you would expect. Tourists abound and rightly so, with all of the wonderful and varied attractions. We had a coach tour of the city in the morning and following this were given the opportunity to “do our own thing”. Again, the main tourist attractions are within easy reach of the hotel, whether walking or on the fantastic public transport. There are also many lovely restaurants within 10 minutes’ walk of the hotel, 20 minutes at a stroll.

All in all, we would highly recommend this trip, either as a first taste of the Riviera Travel experience or just as a city break. Either way, a lovely restful holiday.

Review by: John & Pam Moorfield on 25/09/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

We would like to say a big thank you to the Riviera Travel team who did an amazing job organising alternative flights for us when Ryanair cancelled ours at short notice.

We had a great trip to Berlin & Dresden, where we had the benefit of our guide Frank's endless knowledge. We could not fault the quality of the hotels, or the champagne breakfasts!

This was our third trip with Riviera Travel and we are already planning our fourth.

Review by: Amanda Noonan on 25/09/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

Just returned from a remarkable visit thanks to the care and knowledge of our oustanding guide, Frank. His wonderful commentary, filled with personal anecdotes and his amazing knowledge of all things German, made this a unique experience. Excellent Maritim hotels in both cities and extremely skilful coach drivers. Many thanks to everyone involved.

One note of caution: beware of Trattoria La Strada in Potsdammer Platz. Although we left a cash tip they have managed to put through a separate transaction of 10 per cent of our bill after we left the restaurant.

Review by: Robert and Helen Baron on 25/09/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

We would like to express our thanks to Mike, our tour leader. He did an excellent job of keeping over forty guests informed of timings and details of events. His knowledge of the past history and present developments in Germany was immense. He managed to convey the information to all of us very well in spite of having to contend with traffic and other noise. We were surprised that he did not have a microphone to connect with the individual boxes and earphones which we have used on other Riviera tours.

Review by: John Rezin on 14/09/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

I was impressed by the amount we packed into a few days, I was also impressed by the hotels which were excellent. Lastly but not least I was impressed by Mike our tour manager who had an excellent knowledge of the history of all the areas, he was so helpful and professional.

Review by: Susan BOWER on 04/09/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

Thank you for a smashing holiday.hotels in dresden and Berlin excellent.our tour manager Mike was brilliant very knowledgeable and knew a huge amount about the history whilst also being very practice. Can't recommend the tour and tour manager enough. Thank you.top tip the dark museum is excellent.

Review by: Mrs C J arnold on 04/09/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

Very interesting tour and well arranged.

Hotels excellent in both Dresden and Berlin.

Mike our tour guide was exceptional in every respect. Knowledgeable and very patient, could not praise him more highly.

Review by: Mr & Mrs T O'Hanlon on 04/09/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

A very good tour, and our first.

The organisation was first class but the whole experience was enriched by the knowledge and the organisational efficiency of our guide Frank who spared no effort in explaining every aspect of whatever we were visiting.

Review by: C S M Mitchell on 14/08/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

Absolutely marvellous trip, despite some (very) unkind weather. Our Tour Manager, Frank was absolutely outstanding. We saw so much and he went out of his way to provide us with detailed historic information so we got the most out of it.

He was also superb in terms of giving us helpful local information such as where was good to eat, where the nearest loos were and best places to get a coffee or a sandwich.

If you haven't done this tour, it is highly recommended. Great value for money, wonderfully informative and a great experience.

Review by: Nigel Morris on 10/07/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

My husband and myself have very recently returned from the above trip and to say that we enjoyed every minute is an understatement. The whole trip was very interesting and enhanced by the knowledgeable, courteous guide, Frank, whose concern that we get maximum benefit from the trip was paramount. An enthusiastic group, excellent hotels, good breakfasts - I could go on. Thank you.

Review by: Marie and Geoff on 19/06/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

We have just returned from a truely wonderful European trip taking in Dresden,Colditz and Berlin. Everything from the hotels and walking tours around the cities were excellent. Frank our tour manager was the most informative manager we have encountered, from the very beginning he went through the history of all the places we were visiting and whilst I can't remember all the facts and figures he gave I have learnt so much so thank you Frank. Hotels were superbly located and very comfortable. The time we had to ourselves was just about right and overall we would say this is the best European trip we had done with Riviera. Thanks again Frank.

Review by: Malcolm Hiscock on 10/07/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

Excellent trip. Very good hotels. Our tour guide Alex was very knowledgeable and made all our excursions enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble for him. So much to see, could have spent extra days there.

Review by: Elizabeth Smith on 07/07/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

Excellent Riveria Travel tour, as usual. Richard the tour guide was great, one of the best, he was very knowledgable about Germany, had a good sense of humour and nothing was too much trouble. We really recommend this tour.

Review by: G.Burr & R.Dines on 15/05/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

Another excellent holiday with Riviera. Our hotels (Maritim) in both Dresden & Berlin were exceptional & very centrally based.

Our tour manager, Andy, was one of the best we have ever had. His knowledge & wit unsurpassable. He managed to make the three hour coach ride from Colditz to Berlin go in a flash!

We were blessed with lovely weather, so all in all a good time & thoroughly recommended

Review by: Jo & Tony Bingham on 20/05/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

We have just returned from a trip to Berlin . Upon arrival at Berlin airport we were greeted by an immaculately dressed man carrying a riviera board looking a little stern. How wrong can you be? Andy was the life and soul of our trip. His sense of humour was infectious considering the dark history of Germany. he amazed us with his extensive knowledge of all aspects of German life . He was patient and kind not rushing us and answering all our questions. Thank you Riviera for an amazing trip and a huge thank you to Andy for making our trip one we will never forget!

Review by: Sue holmes on 20/05/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

This citybreak was just fantastic! My family (myself, wife and son) had a great time with just the right mixture of guidance and free time to do our own thing.

Our guide Frank, was brilliant. he was extremely knowledgable and gave us all the information we needed. He was also quite willing to find out answers to any questions he couldn't answer. He went 'the extra mile' to make sure that we had no problems either with the hotels or with the escorted part of the holiday.

The Hotels (both Maritim Hotels in Dresden and Berlin) were great. Luxurious rooms and excellent breakfasts. Just what you would expect from a 4+ star hotel.

All in all a great holiday: one I would thoroughly recommend.

We have travelled with Riviera before and they will be number 1 on our list the next time we look for a citybreak holiday.

Review by: Nick Cutler on 04/05/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

I thought this was a very good holiday, well organised and it met my expectations. 'It did what it said on the tin.' The format of guided tour in the morning with the rest of the day free for our own exploring suited us very well, as I wanted to arrange evening visits to the opera in both Dresden and Berlin. The trip was very educational and it filled in a lot of gaps in my knowledge about East Germany and Berlin, both historically and in modern times. Much of this was a result of the skill and knowledge of our tour leader Frank who gave us well-judged and timely information on the places visited.

We were impressed by the quality of the hotels which had excellent facilities and superb breakfasts.

I would happily recommend this holiday to anyone with an interest in these cities.

Review by: Robin John on 04/05/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

We have just returned from your tour to Berlin, Dresden & Meissen. We were a party of six ladies and thoroughly enjoyed the holiday. Having travelled with Riviera before, this tour didn't disappoint. Our Tour Manager, Frank was so informative he really made the trip for us. His insight into the history and background was invaluable. The tour was very emotional in part but Frank brought the history to life. The only comment we would make was that if we had flown into Dresden and out of Berlin the travelling time would have been reduced. Having said that, the hotels were very comfortable and the breakfasts in both hotels were excellent with plenty of choice.

We are already planning our next Riviera tour for 2018.

Review by: Mary Matthews on 04/05/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

Just returned from the above holiday and we would like to congratulate you on a fantastic, well designed trip. Frank, our tour manager was so knowledgeable he really really does know his 'stuff' and nothing was too much trouble. The hotels were luxurious and central for after dinner strolling. The food in the hotels gave us a wide variety of choice which was lovely. We've been with you a few times now and we can tell you it won't be our last. Carry on the fine work. Thank you Riviera

Review by: Lynn and Walter Kornas on 03/04/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

This was excellent. Our tour guide Frank gave us the most moving account of the Dresden bombings and of the cold war in Berlin, unsurpassable. The hotels were extremely comfortable and central and we had a perfect balance of led tours and free time- I delighted in hearing a Mozart Opera in DRESDEN and a church concert in Berlin, where the Gemaldergallerie exhibited paintings I have been admiring in books from early art school days. Thank you Frank and Riviera.

Review by: elizabeth strath on 04/05/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

This was the second time I have done this tour and was pleased to find that, because of the intense history, I learned more about the places visited. This was largely due to our guide Frank, who's love and knowledge of all things German, accompanied by his pleasing delivery, brought so much of the history to life.

The pace and content of the tour is excellent as are the hotels, comfort of the coach and the standard of driving.

Well done Riviera, I will recommend this tour

Review by: Rosemary McIntosh on 04/05/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

Thank you Riviera Travel for coming up trumps yet again. The tour was amazing and very enlightening. However, the icing on the cake was our tour guide, Frank, whose knowledge was brilliant and his balanced viewpoint put everything into perspective. Brilliant !

Review by: Jill Baines on 04/05/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

Your representative (Frank -) was superb. Not only did he organise the group efficiently, but was able to back this up with great detail of relevant historical information. His warning about a particular crime peril in Berlin helped me avoid a situation I encountered. A first class Rep and a first class holiday - well done!

Review by: Ian McDonald on 04/05/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

Another really good tour. The organisation was good, as were the hotels.

The tour guide Andy turned a good tour into an excellent one !

Alan & Gill Wood

Review by: Alan Wood on 19/04/2017

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

This was the first time that we have travelled with Riviera. We chose this trip as I had family In East Germany and wanted to know more of the history of this region. We were not disappointed. Mike our guide was superb. His knowledge of Berlin and Dresden was second to none. The accommodation and food was the best we have ever experienced on holiday. The only downside was we could have easily spent another day in Berlin. We will certainly use Riviera again.

Review by: Judith Oakley on 23/10/2016

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

This was the first time with Riviera and we were very impressed. The hotel and service from your Rep Alexander was second to none. This will not be the last time we will use Riviera Travel. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Review by: Andrew Evans on 27/10/2016

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

This was the first time that we have travelled with Riviera. We chose this trip as I had family In East Germany and wanted to know more of the history of this region. We were not disappointed. Mike our guide was superb. His knowledge of Berlin and Dresden was second to none. The accommodation and food was the best we have ever experienced on holiday. The only downside was we could have easily spent another day in Berlin. We will certainly use Riviera again.

Review by: Judith Oakley on 23/10/2016

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

We have travelled several times before with Riviera and have always found the tours excellent. This tour to Berlin and Dresden was excellent.

The hotel were very comfortable and in very good central positions. The coach travels was very comfortable with excellent drivers. The tour was made even better by our excellent guide Frank. He was so informative and helpful and went out of his way to ensure that the large group was taken care of at all times.

Review by: Angela Corbett on 21/10/2016

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

Wonderful tour to Berlin and Dresden our guide Richard was very good and went out of his way to make sure everything ran smoothly. Hotels the best and breakfasts amazing Only one disappointment wished Colditz visit was longer I was really looking forward to seeing the glider.

But as a whole a brilliant tour.

Thanking you

Review by: Ann and Ken Worthy on 21/10/2016

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

My sister, niece and I have just returned from a most memorable trip to Dresden and Berlin and I would like to commend Riviera for it’s fantastic arrangements and quality accommodation throughout. A real highlight of the trip was our Guide, Mike, who made every journey, walk and meeting such an informative and personal experience. We learned so much and felt privileged to be part of a super group in fantastic cities, with Mike.

Thank you so much!

Review by: Pauline Homeshaw on 21/10/2016

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

I am writing to say how much my friend and I enjoyed this most interesting trip. In particular, we would like to thank our guide, Keith, who was not only most generous in sharing his immense knowledge of the places visited and all things German, but who delivered his knowledge in such a memorably witty and often moving way.

This has so far been my third trip with Riviera, all of them a success, so please continue to send me your brochure!

Review by: Althea Chapman on 11/10/2016

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

My wife and I have just returned from the above trip, and would like say how enjoyable the trip was. Frank( I do not know his surname) the courier was excellent , not only with all the historical information, which made the visits so much more interesting , but also with his courier duties which he performed above and beyond the call of duty.

He must be the jewel in the crown in your company.

Thank you .

As an observation may I suggest that another day in Berlin would make this tour perfect.

Review by: Brian Webb on 11/10/2016

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

A very informative and enjoyable trip, hotels 1st class, our tour guide, Richard’s knowledge and attention to to detail excellent, making this holiday memorable

Review by: Paul & Claudia McDonald on 20/10/2016

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

The holiday was superb with the correct amount of free time compared to the guided sightseeing. Our Guide, Frank was fantastic. Extremely knowledgeable, kind, courteous and very friendly to us all. We would recommend him as a guide any time.

Review by: Mary Hayward and Pauline Daimond on 07/10/2016

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

Hi, just returned from our latest Riviera excursion, to Berlin and Dresden etc; and both my wife Carol, and I would like to say how much we appreciated, and enjoyed the holiday. Chris, the Tour guide, was excellent, as are all your guides in our experience. She was always available, very approachable, and helpful, with a good sense of humour. Her knowledge, and attention to detail was impressive. We are already looking to our next holiday with Riviera! Best wishes.

Review by: Alan and Carol Didymus on 27/09/2016

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

This was the first time with Riviera and we were very impressed. The hotel and service from your Rep Alexander was second to none. This will not be the last time we will use Riviera Travel. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Review by: Andrew Evans on 27/10/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.