If you've just returned from a tour we'd love to hear from you.

Barcelona & the Highlights of Catalonia Tour

My wife and I went on your Catalonia holiday flying into Barcelona, from Birmingham, and travelling on to Tarragona before returning to Barcelona for the last few days of the holiday. What an excellent holiday, with good well located hotels (very helpful staff in both), and good food, thoroughly enjoyed it.

Our driver for virtually all the week was Manolo, who was great, and we had a first rate local guide Paco. The icing on the cake was our Riviera tour guide – Bridget. She was outstanding, she looked after us wonderfully well. Nothing was too much trouble for her whether it was advice on the Spanish language, how to use the Metro, sights to see etc, chemists – the list goes on. The communication system worked well and we always felt that we were up to speed and very well informed.

Please pass on our thanks

Review by David and Kirstie on 11 October 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour, despite some rain at the beginning. Our tour guide, Hugo, was excellent and so were the local guides in Tarragona and Barcelona. We were lucky enough to have a whole day in Barcelona on the day we returned to Heathrow otherwise only one day there would have been too little, especially as many museums were closed on that day. This was our third Rivera tour in Spain and it lived up to our high expectations.

Review by Mary and Peter Berg on 20 October 2016

We have just returned from Barcelona, the tour which should have left Manchester on Thursday 15 September. We would like to thank the people involved in rearranging our travel arrangements due to industrial action taken by French air traffic controllers. When your colleague rang to tell us of the cancellation we were driving and it was difficult to make a decision, however we made the right one. The journey to Tarragona was indeed long and tedious (twelve and a half hours) but the transfers were good, the small coaches were comfortable and on time and we were met with a smile from Sharon.
We were disappointed to miss the first afternoon in Tarragona but really enjoyed the rest of the tour - good hotels and interesting tours. Sharon our tour manager was experienced and always pleasant and helpful. This was our first tour with Riviera but your company will be the first one we consider when we are able to go away again.
Thank you again

Review by Clarice and Melvyn Tomlinson on 27 September 2016

We enjoyed this tour (our 8th with Riviera) both hotels were well placed for visiting Tarragon & Barcelona, the excursions were well planned & informative, Barcelona was exceptional with plenty of free time to visit what you wanted, Sharon our courier was always there to help & guide us, lastly a mention to our driver (Rafael) who was an excellent driver especially the drive to Montserrat. Lovely holiday.

Review by Mr. Mrs. D. Robinson on 30 May 2016

Sharon was an excellent tour manager, Andreas and Paco were great. Loved Tarragona but would have preferred to have stayed in Barcelona either an extra night or for the 6 nights. A lot of extra travelling on the coach back to Tarragona etc, all the trips could have been done from Barcelona. Apart from that we really enjoyed the holiday. Will travel with you again.

Review by Mr & Mrs Maslen on 19 May 2016

We have just returned from Barcelona and Catalonia. We had a great time and our tour guide, could not have been a better companion. they were a mine of information from the places to visit, how to get to them on public transport when necessary and where to eat. This made all the difference to our stay and enjoyment of it. Many thanks.
Travelled on 05/04/2010

Review by R and J Deane, Stoke on Trent on 13 April 2010

We would just like to say what a superb holiday we have enjoyed with your company. The travel courier was so good with us as my husband is not too well, she took such great care of his needs and we did appreciate having the front seat on the coach and this made his life so much easier for us both. So thank you ALL for this holiday, it really was a holiday and Barcelona is a place we shall go back to again.

Review by Anon on 8 October 2009

Just returned from tour of Catalonia. Lovely week, Tarragona was a great place to stay and our holiday was made even better because of our guide. Met some lovely people and would wholeheartedly recommend this tour.
Travelled on 15/10/2012

Review by Albert Bennion on 5 November 2012

Just to say thanks for a wonderful holiday, made even better by the excellence of our tour guide(s), the helpful staff in the hotels in both Tarragona and Barcelona, and last but not least the lovely coach drivers who ferried us around on so many wonderful trips.  Definately a holiday to be remembered for a long time.

Review by Anon on 25 June 2013

My wife and I and 6 friends have just returned from your Barcelona & Highlights of Catalonia tour and we had a delightful time. The hotels, Hotel Ciutat in Tarragona and Hotel Catalonia La Pedrera in Barcelona were very good value and staff in both were very courteous and helpful.
The excursions were superbly organised - very comfortable coaches and excellent drivers.
Bridgette, our guide, had a delightful personality and, without being overbearing, offered us very sound advice. She was, also, always prepared to see to individual’s needs when required. She did an excellent job.
All 8 of us would have no hesitation in recommending this tour to anyone.
Diolch yn fawr iawn - Thank you very much.

Review by Elwyn Roberts on 3 October 2013

This was our second Riviera holiday and it was even better than last year. Both hotels, Hotel Cuitat de Tarragona and Hotel Catalonia in Barcelona were good and in excellent locations near to plenty of interesting sites. Both had Wi-Fi and their breakfasts had plenty of choice. There is a small supermarket close to both as well for your water or G&T or whatever.
This is a busy holiday and I recommend that you are a bit selective about which sites to see when you have the free time in Barcelona and then spend a decent amount of time to enjoy them in some comfort. We always walked to sites to soak up the other street atmosphere and unexpected street events that were taking place. We saw pageants and street entertainers that made the visits more memorable.
In Barcelona we went to dinner in the La Pedrera Gaudi building, only a few minutes from the hotel and not too expensive, a lovely meal and superb service; treat yourself, you’ll feel like it by the end of the day.
Riviera guides seem helpful with plenty of local knowledge and Bridget was no exception.
Remember it’s a tourist area; watch your bags!!

Review by Jon Fleming on 8 October 2013

Very good tour can not praise our guide strongly enough, I have not met a guide with so much commitment to her work, well done sue for making our trip.

Review by whitfield on 9 October 2013

Many thanks for a most enjoyable holiday.  This was due in no small part to Pat, our tour guide, as well as our fellow travellers. It was an excellent introduction to Catalonia & Pat made sure we were well informed & organised & looked after us very well indeed.

Review by Sue & Mike on 13 October 2013

Just returned from this tour, which was our third trip with Riviera, and we enjoyed it very much. Both hotels were excellent, and the excursions were made very enjoyable by our guide Clare Bailey. As on previous Riviera holidays, the balance between organised trips and free time was just right, and all the places visited had their own special attractions. Looking forward to trying more destinations from the brochure next year.

Review by b hart on 15 October 2013

Just a quick message to say how much we enjoyed the trip to Tarragona and Barcelona. After a little bit of a shaky start due to a mix up at the airport (not Riviera’s fault) the tour was very enjoyable. Montserrat was amazing and we were very fortunate with the weather. This was our 8th or 9th trip with Riviera ( I’ve lost count) and we will certainly be travelling with you again hopefully. As always the hotels were of a decent standard and there was plenty of time to ‘do your own thing’.

Review by Wilf Brooks on 24 October 2013

A memorable holiday thanks to Riviera and our fantastic tour guide Bridget!
Both hotels were well placed for sight seeing, comfortable and well appointed. There was a wide range of food for breakfast which set us up for the day ahead!
All of the places that we visited on the coach tours enabled us to see and feel the real Catalonia.
I recommend El Pigot in Tarragona as an excellent place to eat in the evening.
Thanks also to Pepe who gave us the tour of the Cava vineyard (the glasses of Cava were delicious!) and to Miguel who drove us around so safely.

Review by Sue Hill on 29 October 2013

Just returned from above tour. As usual excellently organised by Riviera, good hotels in the right places and very informative guide in Pat who was always most helpful. Now looking forward to next holiday with Riviera in June.

Review by Mike Emson on 17 April 2014

This was our third Riviera trip and very well organised as usual. Lots to see and the hotels were very good with helpful staff. The tours to Montserrat and Girona were especially interesting, and it was well worth queueing to see the interior of the Sagrada Familia in Barcelona (even if you aren’t particularly impressed by the exterior!). The tour guide commentary could have been more useful if abbreviated.

Review by Helen Mills on 21 May 2014

This was our first holiday with Riviera Travel and we were delighted with it.  Everything we were promised we received.  Our tour guide, Pat, was excellent.  Nothing was too much trouble for her and she kept us up to date with everything surrounding us.
We look forward to booking with Riviera again.

Review by OLGA ALLEN on 30 May 2014

Please convey
my very warm appreciation of the excellent performance of your Tour Manager, Bridget Vlachioties, on my recent holiday, Barcelona and the highlights of Catalonia.

She was a first-rate organiser, firm and authoritative but also cheerful and good-humoured. She was thoroughly well-informed about all the places visited and presented the knowledge clearly without unnecessary detail. She was always accessible and patient, and gave much practical advice and help both to the group and to any individuals with particular problems. In short she was a model of what a good Tour Manager should be.

Review by Peter Gregson on 26 June 2014

Submit your testimonials


Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.