Testimonials

Filter by Cruise or Tour

The Blue Danube River Cruise

We have just returned from this lovely river cruise. Our guides were Jane and Mandy, who worked so hard to make our holiday one to remember. The staff on board the boat are incredible, hard working and very friendly. The food on board was second to none. Trips were excellent. We have traveled with Riviera several years in a row, this being our first river cruise, but this has made us want to do another river cruise to another area, it was so relaxing. Weather is chilly this time of year, but luckily did not rain much, and sitting on deck all wrapped up watching the world go by is wonderful.

Review by: Teresa Broderick on 25/10/2016

Rhine Cruise To Switzerland With Glacier Express Extension

Lovely people at Riviera

Another Birthday and to celebrate, another cruise. This was our third river journey with you and our sixth Riviera holiday. We knew we would not be disappointed, nor were we. This time we chose the Rhine starting in Cologne and ending in Basel. In between we were totally spoilt, comfortable cabin, delicious and varied menus at all meals, interesting and well organised excursions. The hard working crew always had a smile on their faces and I observed many acts of kindness to less able travellers. Our Cruise Director Eric and Tour Manager Jolyon merged efficiency with humour, who writes their jokes, we loved them. We had a wonderful holiday revisiting some familiar places and some new ones. My partner George’s favourite place was the amazing Tecknik Museum in Speyer, mine, and it is hard to choose was the trip to the Schynige Platte when the sun shone on those spectacular and beautiful mountains of the Bernese Oberland. Thank you everyone who looked after us on the Jane Austen. Riviera you are the tops.

Review by: Roberta Davis and George Matthews on 26/10/2016

Apulia, Lecce & Vieste - Undiscovered Italy Tour

Having just returned from a holiday to Apulia, Lecce and Vieste I would just like to let you know how much we enjoyed the tour. The hotels were all of a very high standard and the food excellent - especially on the three evenings we dined out. Jeff, our tour manager, made the holiday with all his local information and his witty comments. He was ably assisted by our driver, Franco, who coped well with the tricky roads round the Gargano peninsula. We felt perfectly safe in his hands.

Review by: J. Hutchison on 20/10/2016

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

This was the first time with Riviera and we were very impressed. The hotel and service from your Rep Alexander was second to none. This will not be the last time we will use Riviera Travel. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Review by: Andrew Evans on 27/10/2016

Berlin, Dresden, Meissen & Colditz

This was the first time with Riviera and we were very impressed. The hotel and service from your Rep Alexander was second to none. This will not be the last time we will use Riviera Travel. Thank you for a wonderful holiday.

Review by: Andrew Evans on 27/10/2016

Classical Spain Tour

Great tour with an absolutely fantastic tour guide by the name of Paul who went out of his way for all travellers on this trip. It was a very busy holiday with lots to do but plenty of breaks on bus tours. Would travel with Riveria again.

Review by: Anne Pauline Houlihan on 27/10/2016

Classical Spain Tour

A very interesting and fascinating trip with moderate hotels. However the evening Buffet in Granada was really good. Our Tour Manager, Clive, was excellent and very knowledgeable and the Guides in Seville, Cordoba and Granada were brilliant, not just for their guiding skills but they all had excellent language abilities and managed to inject humour into the serious information which made the tours even more enjoyable.

Where the parts of the holiday had tickets and Guides provided, these were so well organised. However my wife and I ( and others in the Group) did feel that both the Cathedral and Alcazar in Seville would have been so much better with booked entry and Tour Guides provided. It would have added some cost to the holiday but would have been so worthwhile. Overall a most enjoyable tour which we would certainly recommend to others.

Review by: Ronald Prevezer on 25/10/2016

Krakow Tour

My friend and I have had the most amazing trip to Krakow. Vic, our tour guide, made everything run so smoothly and was so kind and knowledgeable. The lovely local Polish guide, Joanna, who took us on the included walking tour of the Old City, gave us a really interesting and entertaining morning. The trip to the Salt Mine (though hard on the legs!) was an incredible experience.

It was our first trip with Riviera Travel but we are both so impressed. We are planning our next trip already!

Review by: Pauline Rockley on 25/10/2016

Lisbon, Oporto & The Douro Valley Tour

This is an excellent trip. Our guide John was terrific. His knowledge and enthusiasm made the trip. One of the best guides we have had.

Our one criticism would be that on four of the seven nights we were in hotels where dinner was included.

One of the best parts of travelling abroad is getting to experience eating in local restaurants. The three nights we were in Lisbon we had some wonderful food. The same was not true of the dinners we had in the other hotels. Clearly there are people who might prefer to eat in the hotel but we would prefer to be offered that as an option.

Perhaps the location of the Oporto hotel was an issue - a taxi ride from the centre but the Cascais hotel was central and near some local restaurants. We also did not like having to choose menu options as much as 4 days in advance. Other than these issues, this was a thoroughly enjoyable holiday. Thank you, Riviera.

Review by: Marie and Malcolm Maciver on 27/10/2016

Lisbon, Oporto & The Douro Valley Tour

A most enjoyable holiday. We were well looked after everywhere we went. Our Tour Manager, John, was outstanding in his attention to detail, enhancing our tour with his knowledge of the area and giving fascinating historical talks about the places we visited. He also helped everyone to feel included in a friendly atmosphere, and his coming to the check-in desk to see us safely onto the flight home was much appreciated. The hotels were excellent, and the local guides and drivers were first-rate.

Review by: Heather Moore on 26/10/2016

Sicily Tour

I learned so much about Sicily in just a week - for a start how big the island is - so there’s a lot of travelling, but our Tour Manager, Rosario, was excellent. He is extremely thorough and managed to adjust our journeys to avoid other tours and cruises so we got the maximum time at each destination. He’s also very informative and very funny about life in Sicily. It’s got me thinking about the Western Sicily tour…........

Review by: Jonathan Morgan on 31/10/2016

Sicily Tour

Our ninth Riviera holiday! What an exciting and educational week steeped in history and told to us by our tour guide Ruth in her own enthusiastic and passionate style.

Every day was an adventure and we feel we have returned home with a wealth of knowledge.

Tour guide of the year has to be Ruth! An absolute gem. Thank you Riviera and of course Ruth. A truly unforgettable holiday.

Review by: Liz and Andy on 31/10/2016

Sicily Tour

We enjoyed a very special holiday thanks to Clara our tour guide who put her heart and soul into giving us lots of extra special treats and was a fount of information

Thanks to Clara and Pipo our driver for all their hard work

We will certainty go Riviera Travel again

Review by: Ruth and Ray on 27/10/2016

Grand Tour Of China

Pam and I would like to say that having travelled with Riviera Travel on numerous holidays, this has got to be one of the best! The “wows” are exactly how you would expect them to be and more. Walking on the Great Wall, Terracotta Warriors, Pandas, Yangtze cruise and Shanghai! - where do you stop? It’s a busy and exciting holiday and the people… Well, we have never felt so special. Not a day went by without having our pictures taken with the locals and someone wanting to speak English with us!

The logistics of getting from one “wow” to another are taken away from you and you just enjoy the experience. Chris was our Tour Manager and he was brilliant. Chris ensured we knew where we needed to be, by when and what was happening. We were never late for a flight, train or attraction and sorted out the domestics at each hotel perfectly and with ease. What more can you ask? The local guides ensured we experienced the best of every location with their extensive knowledge and obvious passion.

If you ever felt like visiting China, but have held back in the past, don’t wait any longer! This Riviera Travel holiday is for you!

Review by: John & Pam Moorfield on 28/10/2016

India Tour

I have just returned from a tour of India organised by your company which was hosted by a wonderful guide called Susan and her Indian associate Myanck. The timetable worked to perfection and my only criticism would be that the tiger safari was not quite up to the standard of the rest of the itinerary. More comfortable transport in smaller vehicles would be preferable and would probably improve the chances of spotting a tiger and enjoying the rest of the wildlife.

Any minor problems were immediately sorted out by Susan and it was indeed a pleasure to travel with her.

This is our second trip with Riviera and I can promise you that it will not be our last.

Review by: David and Ann Robins on 20/10/2016

Japan - Land Of The Rising Sun Tour

We have just come back from a most enjoyable trip to Japan. Our tour manager, Paul, was so helpful, calm, courteous and humourous. Local guides, Ted, Remy and Meg were so informative. A great time and thank you to everyone on the coach too, lovely people, and hope you all had safe journeys home and recovering from jet lag!

Review by: Gillard T and H on 01/11/2016

Submit your testimonial

Your testimonial will be reviewed by our moderating team prior to publication. We try to review all our testimonial submissions within 24 hours, but this is not always possible. Not all testimonials are published. We do not respond to testimonials submitted online. If you require a response please use the contact us section on the website. Your privacy is respected and safeguarded at all times. Please read our Privacy Policy for more information.

  Live chat